Day 22: Cancun - Doin' the PCR - Grampies' Poc Chuc Pursuit Winter 2021 - CycleBlaze

December 15, 2021

Day 22: Cancun - Doin' the PCR

With Dodie pretty much immobile, restaurant meals will not really be a thing for the rest of our stay. Dodie is happy to eat fruit and veggies mostly anyway. But Jorge came up with a chicken dish, and showing the difference between restaurant labeling and home cooking, when asked the name of the dish he replied "We call this chicken and tomatoes". Actually, there were some trick ingredients in there, notably achiote.

Home cooking
Heart 4 Comment 0

We spent some time following the bad Omicron news from home and around the world. So strange - when we left home such a short time ago we confidently predicted Canada would be lifting the testing requirement on return, given that everyone on a flight would be certified vaccinated. But Omicron struck so swiftly, and now ...

Jorge found a PCR test site with the "reasonable" price of 950 pesos, and we will head over there today. We registered our appointment online,  something that really took help, because of being all in Spanish. I am worrying a lot about this, because a positive test would have us stranded here with the injured Dodie, and not necessarily with a place to stay and isolate. So every time I sneeze, I am thinking "oh, oh".

It's expected, but still noteworthy, what a local can achieve in terms of accessing services, compared to a tourist. While the airport taxis were negotiating in the range of 500-700 pesos to originally bring us the 10 km to Jorge's house, Jorge commandeered a taxi to take us three to the PCR site, 10 km away in downtown,  wait, and come back for 300 pesos. Also, when almost back home - about a block away - Jorge spoke out his window to the guy in the next truck over (carrying water jugs), the equivalent of "Hey Chico, bring me one".  The guy knew who this was and where to deliver, showing what we also know - that even big cities are comprised of neighbourhoods that are much like small towns.

The taxi took us north on 307, which I pointed out to Dodie as her  "favourite" road. 307, never a great ride, is quite brutal close to Cancun. But in the more normal course of events we would have taken it on the bikes to have a look at the Hotel Zone or the Isla Mujeres.

The PCR site, whose web presence was very slick indeed, turned out to be a pair of tents in the back of a parking lot. No matter, the people were still very professional. Not so smart was me, who stupidly assumed that the two emails (one each) in my phone that said "Ok, you are paid up and set to go, show up at 1:30, and your file number is 355..." was what I needed to bring. 5 seconds thought would have told me our passports were also needed. Otherwise, I could have brought anyone from the street and passed her off as Dodie. Fortunately the testing folks were reasonable and just had me print Dodie's name on a piece of paper - just as it appears on her passport. In my case, I was cool, because I always carry my drivers' license.  People who know us well will recognize that this screwup would not have happened if Dodie still had her hands on the tiller. But the poor victim is forced for a while to rely on second string staffers!

Medical lab, Mexican style
Heart 4 Comment 0
Still, it's functional and economical
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't think Dodie was looking her best in this shot, but maybe neither would you in the circumstances. Dodie still approved publication.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltShe continues to look better!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Ellen LeeOh dear, poor Dodie! Yes another variant magically appears when we thought it was all over, no end to this damned virus!!! As long as you kept your masks on & took precautions, you should be fine. I don't think this variant found it's way to Cancun yet. So for your questions: A salvage company picked up my stuff. I had a money belt which had my passport so they took that off my waist when they took me into the ambulance & put that in the rear panniers that they collected off the road. My insurance information was also in there. They kept asking if I wanted to make a phone call home but I refused every time. I knew it wasn't serious injuries after the CT scan so I could manage & I was alert enough to understand. The concussion only lasted 4 days & I made myself walk a bit everyday to help with the dizziness. I made sure I stayed in bed to heal the concussion. My insurance company was Securiglobe (Ontario/Quebec company) & I was insured through Aetna & Berkley. I called them with hospital phone (no SIM card on cell phone) to let them know but they didn't do much. I just paid the bill after 5 days in hospital around $12,000 Euro on my Mastercard and I was reimbursed when I returned home. The bike damage, salvage cost, change of flight were not included of course, only medical. The hospital ambulance took me to the opthamologist hospital & return trip the next day. Then a driver, after 5 days in hospital, took me down up to the salvage company to retrieve my gear but not the bike, she couldn't transport it even with it folded. Then we went to the hotel. So I got the hotel to phone for me and I met the salvage company driver at the airport to get my bike back. Westjet bagged my bike for me as I got wheelchair service, thanks to Keren! I flew out of Paris. I have a travel agent, Keren, in Calgary & emailed her so she changed my flight. I have been with her since 2002 as I prefer to deal with her than the airlines. She has helped me so many times & I rely on her on all my trips. No headaches calling airlines & put on hold etc...hassle free!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Sue PriceOh boy!! Fingers crossed all goes well and you will be snug and warm in your own home soon!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ellen LeeTo Ellen LeeMy email is ellenlee1313@gmail.com so if you need to know more info I can tell you. I just didn't want a lot of that stuff published as I didn't think it necessary, hahaha! my misfortune! And remember Dodie is older than I so she will take longer to heal. Don't rush. I had my radiologist go over the CT scan with me so I knew I didn't need surgery even though my ophthalmologist sent me to Vancouver to see the eye surgeon for opinion. I have a bit of double vision but only if I look up high which is not normal to do.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Ellen LeeEllen, in your original blog and in this description, you sound impressively matter of fact. It's an admirable personality trait. By contrast, the situation with Dodie just entering the Emergency, but with all our gear potentially out in the street made me absolutely wild.

Thanks for the back story, which I was just able to read to Dodie. Where you point out that being older she she expect to take longer to heal was good, because now she keeps asking why she still does not feel well (about four days into the recovery).
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Sue PriceI think there is a limit on how long we could be hung out to dry here, if positive, because I read the regulation as negative PCR within 72 hours or positive test over 14 days previous. That is weird in itself, because a positive test in (say) 2020 would not make you safer than 3 recent Pfizers. Dunno. (And neither does Bonnie Henry).
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ellen LeeTo Steve Miller/GrampiesYes I am a very calm person. I don’t panic because if I do I can’t think straight or analyze so I force myself to stay in the now. Stuff is stuff, I had no clue where they took everything & didn’t care until I was well. Then they told me where it was so I was fine with it. Yes Dodi will take a while to heal. The broken arm will ache along with all the bumps she received. I found my ribs to hurt for 2 months. My eye not so. I didn’t take painkillers as they made me vomit. My eye took longer to heal as I could not look right without losing some vision so I didn’t drive for 6 months. And walking was slow for a month, hence my electric bike got me out & about. My friend forced me to walk adding a mile every other day which helped too. Surgery on my thumb as I tore ligament so that was 6 months later. So tell Dodi not to rush and be patient. Go slow so you heal properly! 4 days is still so soon after accident. I was laying in bed for 6 days! It will be months so think long term. I am fortunate to have worked in hospital so I have more knowledge of my injuries so I didn’t think I was in a life threatening situation hence no sense phoning home as nobody could help anyhow. So I am glad you have such nice honest people helping you out, so kudos to them! And you will need a nice rest once you get home so you can de-stress! Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are to get! So good luck & I pray for negative Covid tests for you both so you can get home ASAP!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago