Day .5 Travel to Cleveland - Ohio to Erie Trail 2023 - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2023

Day .5 Travel to Cleveland

Where I travel in the most smelly and rickety UHaul ever

I messaged my wife that I have never driven a worse vehicle in my life than todays U-Haul. Rickety, hot, loud, and OMG it smelled like someone died in the back cargo area. I hope that smell doesn’t linger on my bike. But adventure over and I made it to Cleveland and rode about 2 miles in Cincinnati to the vehicle pickup and 2 miles from the drop off to the hotel. Tomorrow I start my official trip. So far it’s felt like driving and more driving interspersed with a small bike ride and city walking.

“With the record selection and the mirror’s reflection I’m (riding) with myself”. Apologies to Billy Idol
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I got to the hotel I stashed the bike and walked downtown to the one place I wanted to visit - the William Mather lake freighter. In the late 70’s I heard Gordon Lightfoots’ rendition of “Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” on a 45 and this was my chance to step aboard a lake freighter and see exactly what it looked like on the inside where “the cook said,’fellas it’s too rough to feed ya”

How to prove I live this life? Just ask my wife
Heart 0 Comment 0
“The legend lives on from the Chippewa on down of the big lake they called Gitche Gumee…
Heart 0 Comment 0
The ship was the pride of the American side coming back from some mill in Wisconsin
Heart 0 Comment 0
With a load of iron ore 26 thousand tons more than the Edmund Fitzgerald weighed empty
Heart 0 Comment 0
When supper time came the old cook came on deck saying “Fellas it’s too rough to feed ya”
Heart 0 Comment 0
At 7 pm a main hatchway caved in he said “fellas it’s been good to know ya!”
Heart 0 Comment 0

By no means am I making light of the tragedy that was the Edmund Fitzgerald. I was merely trying to show the areas of a lake freighter ship relating to lyrics in the song. I cannot imagine the terror and fear those sailors felt as they faced the storm, and then just experienced a catastrophic event that took the ship down. Very, very sobering. I have a 28’ cabin cruiser and I can’t imagine being in the seas they were in. “Does anyone know where the love of God goes?” indeed. Even now, almost 40-some years later, it’s still very sad. Being on the freighter today I cannot imagine how something THAT massive just broke up and ceased to exist in a matter of minutes (or seconds).

Right next store I had to stroll to the hall of fame of rock and roll
Heart 0 Comment 0
Closed for a private event but I wasn’t afraid to sneak in to get this shot of the Cleveland arcade
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a Banksy that I can tell but the alley displayed urban art so well
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh, the people you meet walking through the crowd on 4th street
Heart 0 Comment 0


Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 18 miles (29 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0