What's up with posting plans in February? - Ohio to Erie Trail 2023 - CycleBlaze

What's up with posting plans in February?

OK, I'm rammy. I need to get out and ride. When I was younger my mom used to always tell me I was rammy when I became this way and to go outside and play. So here I am looking to do just that on a bike tour. But temps being what they are in February, it will have to wait a few months. And I'm looking to do this tour with my other half (spouse, wife, domestic partner, love of my life) and that means established trails and/or routes. Something like the GAP/C&O or the Katy trail. She prefers these to on-road adventures. Oh, and no camping.

That led me to more research on long trails, and I found the Ohio-to-Erie trail which leads from Cincinnati (on the Ohio river) to Cleveland (on Lake Erie). However, since we're riding in the opposite direction, people still refer to it as Ohio-to-Erie rather than changing it to Erie-to-Ohio. GO figure. 

I'm rammy just typing out this intro.

Touring with my partner in crime has its benefits. We generally ride on a know path with a marked trail. Also, each night we roll into a hotel/motel and it's super-comfy. Oh, and we eat out each night. Everyone is happy. Well, everyone except my wallet. 

So the plan is:

  1. Drive ~7 hours to Cincinnati, park, and ride 12 miles to overnight
  2. Pick up Haul truck next day, throw bikes in back, drive 4 hours to Cleveland, drop off truck in Cleveland, explore city (Uhaul was $100 one-way while rental cars with a van were around $450-$500)
  3. Ride from Cleveland over 6 days (overall route and daily routes shown below)
  4. Return to car, drive about 30 miles closer to home, and then all the way home before Mother's Day 
Heart 0 Comment 0

And, if you've decided in theory this sounds like a good read but would rather watch the movie adaptation, I got you covered there, too

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bob DistelbergLooks like a fun trip. I'll look forward to following along. Too bad I have to wait though!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Marc Y.I hope you have a wonderful trip! I have enjoyed your journals since I found them over on another site. I am really looking forward to this one as I live on the OTET in Millersburg. I have ridden the stretch of the OTET from Mt Vernon to Fredericksburg often. If you have any questions let me know I would be happy to help or offer advice for the area.

South of Fredericksburg you will see a lot of trees down from a storm that went through last June. Huge disruption in the area with power out and extensive road reroutes. The damage is still impressive 10 months later.

Safe and happy travels!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Paul MulveyTo Marc Y.Thanks for following me onto this site - it's not just YouTube where I have followers I guess :-). And appreciate the info from a local. I'll be rolling into Hotel Millersburg May 8 so if you see me rolling, give a wave and flag me down; I'd be happy to chat. I was planning on getting something to eat at the hotel bar - any better suggestions in the Millersburg downtown area?

Interesting last year's damage still exists to a decent degree. There was a fellow YouTuber (Denise Looking Out) who rode that area last year and I think she was in the thick of it. I ride with a lighter load on my bike than she does (theoretically - I've never weighed her bike :-)) so I should be able to lift over obstacles or even reroute to different areas if need be.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Marc Y.To Paul MulveySorry to be confusing, the damage I mentioned is not disrupting the trail anymore. It is just still very noticeable along the side of the trail. I have heard several people come through the area and wonder what happened. The trail is in fine shape.

I will keep an eye out on May 8th. If I do see you I will for sure flag you down. As for eateries in the downtown area; there are two places just a block over that are popular. Millersburg Brewing Company and Bag's Sports Pub. I would recommend The Cider Press but they are closed on Mondays.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago