Day 5 - still at Westville, IL - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2011

Day 5 - still at Westville, IL

Posted via email Sun Sep 4 07:25:02 2011 PDT

I was beat yesterday, so figured another recovery day in this hot weather was in order. Slept very well last night, waking up only once at 1:20am to hear a group singing with a guitar accompaniment. Awake enough to get up at 6:45am. 

Got out of the tent at 7:30am and started working on the report for yesterday. A camper stopped by and offered me an empty cooler for use while I am here, having seen my love for ice yesterday. I figured I'd get by today without ice. It was still hot though - I spent the afternoon with my shirt off (kept my tee-shirt on, though).

Took a break at 11:00am for lunch. Later, at 12:20pm, I took an hour nap on the picnic table. After then I lost the shade and moved over to the picnic table at the empty site next door to finish the report and start planning tomorrow's route. There was a breeze every now and then that felt good. The camp host stopped by later to tell me about a 6:00pm hay rack ride.

I was hearing thunder now and then, so got the bike ready by covering the light and seat. I got in the tent at 5:40pm for a good twenty-minute rain. Lots of thunder, but not too much wind.

Toward evening I walked around the camp area some. Lots of wild flowers here and a covered bridge built in 2001.

At 7:15pm I had ginger snaps for supper. Later took a picture of the inside of the covered bridge, which is lighted.

There's lightning and thunder in the distance, but still it's a nice evening with the smell of campfires and the sounds of families sitting around them.

Spent: $20 (campsite fee).

Went: 0

Jeff


Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0