Day 6 - ending at Crawfordsville, IN - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2011

Day 6 - ending at Crawfordsville, IN

Posted via email Mon Sep 5 09:08:01 2011 PDT

Awake at 5:55am. It had rained some more overnight and everything outside was wet. Packed the wet tent and had the bike loaded by 8:30am. I covered the rear cargo with plastic, since weather radar on the BlackBerry indicated rain still to the west.

Ate Pop Tarts for breakfast and headed out at 9:00am. Stopped at picnic area on my way out to send yesterday's report and re-check weather radar. Was at the park's exit at 9:42am.

It was a downhill coast to Indiana - two miles away. Rolled from CDT into EDT at 9:52am/10:52am. No signs, just a change in the road condition.

This gentle hill area of Indiana had an old rural, small farm feel. Passed an old gentleman sitting on his porch with his small dog in his lap.

I was headed toward Perryville from the south when it started to rain. I hoped to find a pavilion, where I could put on my rain gear. And I did. A fellow was there getting ready for a cookout. I helped him move the picnic tables around. Waited awhile to see if the rain would pass soon, then put on my gear. Left at 12:55pm (EDT) and crossed the Wabash River a little later. (Note picture of stream below is not the Wabash River.) It was a hard push getting back out of the river valley with my rain gear and boots on. After twenty minutes I took the stuff off.

At 2:15pm I was at the Cades Mill Bridge. It's a 150-foot covered bridge that's been bypassed now with a parallel bridge. It was a nice place to get out of the rain, which was still gently coming down.

In the afternoon, I was in areas I love to be - in the middle of nowhere. The rain had moved on.

At 7:00pm, I arrived at the KOA Campground at Crawfordsville, Indiana. Selected no-hookup site #37 and set up the tent. There were signs around about an ice cream social at 8:00pm. The ice cream was free, with tips to the young girl servers appreciated. I had two bowlfuls for supper. Afterwards I took a shower and went to bed.

Spent: $9.63 (campsite fee), $0.80 (7-up soda), $3 (tip for ice cream servers).

Went: 45 miles.

Jeff

Day 6 - Westville, IL to Crawfordsville, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ ready to leave Forest Glen Preserve - Westville, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Meadowlark Shelter at Forest Glen Preserve - Westville, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ The Silo Family - Vermillion County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ CR-775N - Vermillion County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ southwest corner of Jackson and Main - Perrysville, IN +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Wabash River - Perrysville, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
(not Wabash River)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Cades Hollow Road Bridge and Cades Mill Bridge - Fountain County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Cades Mill Bridge and Cades Hollow Road Bridge - Fountain County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ There were a lot of newly broken tree branches on this road (Cades Hollow Road) its entire length through the wooded area. Glad I wasn't here when they were falling. +

+ Cades Hollow Road - Fountain County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Prairie Chapel Road - Fountain County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 206 miles (332 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0