Cycling in New Plymouth NZ - NZ North Island Hubs and Scenic Spokes - CycleBlaze

March 3, 2019

Cycling in New Plymouth NZ

I arrived in New Plymouth yesterday after a month in the Hawke’s Bay region where I did cycle but mostly on flat trails.  While it was very enjoyable riding being out of traffic I lost some of my hill climbing ability.  Our ride today while not super tough it did have one good climb to get me started for the tour.  It was a lovely ride through classic NZ farming country with Mt Taranaki in the background.  I rode with my kiwi friend Sara and 2 of her local cycling buddies.  Weather was perfect except for a little wind but the savoury scone at the end tasted wonderful.  I have saved this route on my Garmin so I can go out on my own later in the week while my hosts are working.

Mt Taranaki across the farm land. It is snow covered in the winter. You can hike right to the top which is over 8000ft.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Me with Sara and Dave our ride leader.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sara, Max and Dave my cycling buddies today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We crossed the Waitara River upon which this dragon boat crew was training.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding the coastal walkway approaching NP.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sara passing over the lovely bridge on the pathway.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Mt Taranaki again from the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The route for today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Coffee and a snack at The Federal Café (The Fed) after the ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 999 km (620 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Yvonne McLeanGreat to see Sara as fit and as young as ever! Looks like a lovely place to ride.....have more fun when the Victoria group arrives.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Margaret KavanaghI will pass on your comment to Sara. Hope the rehab goes well so you are back on the bike in the spring
Reply to this comment
5 years ago