Another ride in New Plymouth - NZ North Island Hubs and Scenic Spokes - CycleBlaze

March 5, 2019

Another ride in New Plymouth

For my second ride in New Plymouth I rode with 4 local fellows who very kindly kept me in their sites. It was a little hillier than my first ride with 2600ft over only 64km/40mi.  The definition of a hill around here is anything over 10% otherwise it is just a roller.  We had 3 good hills today. We started both rides by leaving town along the coastal walk/bike way.  This a lovely route that passes right through town and beyond for a total of 13km/8mi.  As per the first ride we passed through some lovely dairy farming country but unlike the first day Mt Taranaki was shrouded in clouds.  As with any good ride there was a coffee stop on the edge of town.  Once back home I took my furry friend Maddy for a walk on the black sand beach.

Dave and the boys who took me under their wing today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beach at NP with the 3 points left from the rim of an old volcano. The rest is under water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Maddy loving the beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today’s route.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The coastal walkway markers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our coffee stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 927 km (576 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0