Day Twenty-five: Chadron, Nebraska to Gordon, Nebraska - Oregon Coast to Kentucky WITH NO FLAT TIRES! - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2019

Day Twenty-five: Chadron, Nebraska to Gordon, Nebraska

This was a short, uneventful day, which started off slowly, before I even left the hotel, when I received a message from Verizon saying that I'd used up all my cellphone data for the month. I spent some time (and some of Joy's time) trying to get this resolved, then fiddled around in my suite for a while, then went down to the breakfast, which was sub par compared to the rest of the hotel's amenities.

I rode through town, but then stopped after only a mile at a "Pump and Pantry" to buy snacks and sunscreen.

Heart 3 Comment 0

While dawdling at the Pump and Pantry I realized I'd somehow wasted a couple of hours since waking up, and my original, ambitious destination of Valentine was now impossible. It would probably need to be a short riding day today.

I had a headwind. US-20 continued to have a wide, ride-able shoulder, fortunately. There wasn't much traffic anyway.

I passed a modest home with a display of annoying, angry political signs and flags. Guys like this always seem to prefer constructing these elaborate displays rather than maintaining their messy, junk-strewn properties.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Faith LeeThe need a dislike button....😏
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

After twenty miles I arrived in Hay Springs, population 570.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a mixture of closed and open businesses - but mostly open ones.  Hay Springs seemed to be doing alright. There was even a tiny coffee shop. I don't drink coffee, but I went in anyway and ordered a smoothie.

A young couple came in, pushing their son in a stroller. I assume they were just traveling through, because the guy said "I thought only big cities had coffee shops!" Like me, he seemed surprised to find one in Hay Springs.

A burly local guy, the only other customer, who, in the coffee shop's concession to local customs was eating biscuits and gravy, something not normally found on a "big city" coffee shop menu, piped up. "I don't like big cities. I only get to Chadron a couple times a year." 

Chadron is only twenty miles away, and has a population of less than 6,000. 

I got back on US-20, which continued to be an empty road.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Rushville, population 890, was only about twelve miles away. I looked around and took some photos, then continued on US-20.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was fifteen miles to the next town. There wasn't a lot to see, but the riding was nice enough.

Image not found :(
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'd ridden less than fifty miles when I arrived in Gordon, population 1,612. It was already mid-afternoon, it was hot, and the sky looked dark to the east. It was 93 miles to Valentine, the  next town with any services, so clearly I was done for the day.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I felt a little down because of the short day and my lack of progress, and the fact that I was far from home on a holiday.

I got the last room at the Jefco Inn, cleaned up, then walked next door to the grocery store and bought snacks. I didn't feel like going to a restaurant, so I went back to my room, lay down, dozed off, and then was awakened by thunder and rain.

The storm didn't last long, and later I walked around town, but didn't see anything very inspiring.

I decided I need to do a long ride tomorrow, and make more progress getting across Nebraska, so I went to bed before 8:00, awakened briefly a few hours later by Gordon's Fourth of July fireworks.

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,998 miles (3,215 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Gregory GarceauHi Jeff,

Great job so far. Besides the fact that your journal is interesting and well-written, it's also one that I can relate to, having never toured anywhere beyond the U.S. and a bit of Canada. (Though I cannot relate to the daily mileages you rack up. Impressive.) And your pictures somehow seem to tell a story all by themselves. That's a talent that I haven't acquired and probably never will.

Plus, no flat tires or meat-eating transgressions (at least that you've mentioned.)
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinHi again,
You are very lucky with the weather, even with the thunderstorm. July in Hay Springs from my memories was hot, dry and the landscape mostly brown. I've seen a few touring cyclists on Rte.20 too. The stretch through the sand hills, your next ride, is interesting and was one of my dad's favorite places. Thanks for sharing.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Gregory.

No flat tires yet. And I've maintained the vegetarian diet, mainly by eating a lot of junk food, grilled cheese sandwiches, and french fries.

Sadly, my laptop died yesterday, so I'm not sure if I can keep doing the journal.

I can write the text using my phone, but I use a DSLR camera, not my phone, to take photos. So I have no way to upload them without the laptop.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago