Introduction - Oregon Coast to Kentucky WITH NO FLAT TIRES! - CycleBlaze

Introduction

The route for this tour was created for me by John Egan, who is an expert on bicycle travel in the USA.

For the first time, I will be doing a long bike tour west-to-east. I'm hoping to start from Bandon, Oregon around June 10th, and take 55 or 60 days to ride to Cape Henlopen in Delaware.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonI hate to be a Cassandra, but if I were you I might take along a pump and spare anyway. I’m sure YOU won’t have a flat, but you might as well be prepared. If nothing else, you’ll feel good when you can help out someone less fortunate.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff LeeHa! Yes, I'll take the usual flat-repair stuff just case I happen upon some unfortunate bicyclist who is not riding on Teravail Sparwood tires (https://teravail.com/tires/sparwood#TR7258).

My wife and I put these on our Salsa Fargo bikes when we toured on the Great Divide, and didn't have an flats, even though we rode over all manner of sharp rocks, thorns, etc.

If the unimaginable happens and I do somehow get a flat tire, I will of course change the title during the tour.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Adam ZamoraThis route looks sort of amazing! I think you'll have a great ride.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Connie JohnsonGlad I’m going to get to go on this journey with you. Stay safe and have a great trip. I will be watching.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago