Stealing Quotes From Conrad, Kesey, and G-2 - The Man Who Biked To Canada (With No Complaints) - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2016

Stealing Quotes From Conrad, Kesey, and G-2

Sartell, Minnesota

The bike tourist's daily disaster area Part Two.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It took me a long time to go 51 miles today, but I'm not complaining.  I got an early start (8:30 a.m. is early for me) and, all things considered, I felt pretty strong while pounding through the 15-20 m.p.h. headwind.  I recalled a couple of inspirational quotes to help keep me from complaining.

  • "You have to laugh at the things that hurt you just to keep yourself in balance, just to keep the world from running you plumb crazy."  -Ken Kesey, from One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest.  (No, I don't remember everything I read, but this one is stuck in my small brain because it fits in with my thoughts on life.)
  • "Lovely breeze, wouldn't you say?"  -G-2.  (See the 5th photo on Page 2 of this journal for context.)  Today's wind wasn't tornadic like the one in that photo, but it definitely was a character builder.

I spent more time than I should have on the busy Highways 371 and U.S. 10.  They both had huge shoulders for safety, but they also had huge amounts of traffic for driving you plumb crazy.  I laughed as often as possible to keep myself in balance, but I was pretty sure I could have found a better route.  Along with the quotes, popping Riesen's caramel candies into my mouth sure helped too.  They're great mood lifters.

Displaying the military might of the Minnesota National Guard.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A more somber picture at Camp Ripley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A picturesque church in tiny Belle Prairie, MN.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another reason why my day took so long is because I had trouble finding a motel in the northern part of the St. Cloud metro area.  Even more troubling was that I heard a rattling sound coming from my back panniers.  I was pleased with myself for quickly discovering the source of the rattle.  It was a loose bolt that secured my pannier rack to the frame of my bike.

"Nooooooo problem," I thought, "I have an allen wrench for that.  I'll just tighten it up and I'll be on my way.  Piece of cake!"  I did tighten it up, then one little extra turn, and SNAP!  I saw half of the bolt on the pavement and the other half broken off in the braze-on.  After a minute of panic, thinking I'd have to find a machine shop to drill the other half of the bolt out of my bike, I amazed myself with my own ingenuity.  I worked for ten minutes to get that broken half out with my fingernail clippers.  (I carry fingernail clippers not only to clip my fingernails, but I've also found they work better than tweezers to get those little wires from truck tires out of my own bike tires.  Now they have a third use.)  When I twisted the screw out of there, I pretty much high-fived myself.

  • "Necessity, they say, is the mother of invention, but fear, too, is not barren of ingenious suggestions."  -Joseph Conrad
Another crossing of the Mississippi River. This one is in Sartell.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fear sometimes forces you to do what you have to do. That's what I like about bike touring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 1,154 miles (1,857 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0