A Know-It-All Uses High-Tech Bike Terminology - The Man Who Biked To Canada (With No Complaints) - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2016

A Know-It-All Uses High-Tech Bike Terminology

Rogers, Minnesota

While loading my gear onto my bike this morning, I discovered that the snapped bolt wasn't the only equipment issue I had yesterday.  Somehow, somewhere, sometime, my air pumping thing fell off my bike and I didn't notice.  After careful inspection, I was able to use my superior bicycle repair knowledge to solve the mystery.  I think it had something to do with the missing velcro strap that secured the pump to the pump-holding-bracket thingamajig.  

See? There is nothing in the thing where a pump should be.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I really didn't need the hassle, nor the delay, of trying to find a bike shop when I was facing another day of strong winds, a high temperature of 95-degrees (F), a heat index of 105-degrees, and severe thunderstorms in the afternoon hours.  Yet I also knew it would be the height of irresponsibility to try to ride the last three days of my tour without a pump.  At this moment, I can think of no greater shame than having to ask somebody for help because I didn't have the most basic equipment for repairing a simple flat tire.

On my way to Fitzharris Bike and Sport Shop in downtown St. Cloud, I had the fun of riding through a parade route.  The official start time was still a half-hour away but hundreds of people were already lining 6th Avenue in preparation for the big parade.  A few people waved at me and I waved back.  I pretended the parade was in my honor.  One woman shouted, "That's the BEST way to travel" as I passed by, to which I answered, "Yes, it IS!"

A couple of seconds after I snapped this picture, I passed the golf cart and the roller skater to take over leadership of the parade of pre-parade goofballs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back from the end point of my ride of glory.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The guys at the Fitzharris Bike & Sport store were very helpful and, like any well-trained retail employees, they supported my decision to buy the $29 pump over the $15 pump.  Everybody was happy and I proceeded south.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out my new tire pumping contraption.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a small part of the Munsinger-Clemens Gardens on the banks of the Mississippi River in St. Cloud.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is another small part of the gardens. The flowers were pretty and all, but I prefer a vegetable garden.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now THAT'S what I'm talking about! Soybeans on the left and wheat on the right. Vegetables and grains that are used to make all kinds of delicious foods.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is Big Lake? I've seen bigger.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not sure of the significance of this red triceratops in Elk River, but it's big and it's fiberglass, therefore it's an irresistible photo-op.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a brutal day, but I'm not complaining.  Why would a guy complain when he is safely housed in a motel rather than in a campground where his tent could be shredded by golf-ball sized hail?

There was some hail in this storm but, far from the golf-ball sized hail the weathermen predicted, I would describe it as rabbit-dropping-sized hail.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,202 miles (1,934 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0