Day 5 - still at Broken Bow, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2019

Day 5 - still at Broken Bow, NE

I was surprised to wake up suddenly to rain hitting the tent. No, that's lawn sprinklers! It was 2:05am. I closed the tent screens and went back to sleep. At 6:42am I was awake for the morning. Today's plans are to do laundry, look for another spare tire, and get up to date on reports. I gathered up dirty clothes and headed toward town at 7:43am. A few pictures of downtown, then on to the Tumbleweed Cafe. I passed Orscheln Farm and Home (store) on the way, and stopped to see about tires. They don't have tires, just bike accessories.

I arrived at the cafe at 8:11am. I ordered today's special, then read some from the daily newsletter published by sandhillsexpress dot-com. My breakfast was very good, especially the eggs. $6.05 total!

On to the laundromat. I passed Hank's Hardware on the way and stopped to check for tires. No tires, just bike accessories. At the laundromat at 9:00am. After the washer was running, I walked a block to Ace Hardware. They have tires, but they are no-flat solid fill tires. After discussion and measurements of my rim, they sold me a 26x1.95 one. For me, it's an emergency spare.

At 10:00am my laundry was done. I almost went east to the Sandhills Journey Scenic Byway Information Center next, but decided I'd better get going on report writing, and headed back to the campground. I've been at it since then, with the phone plugged in next to the picnic table under the campground pavilion. It's 6:00pm now, and I'm going to get supper.

Since it's in the campground's neighborhood, I ended up at Broken Bow Legends Neighborhood Grill. Prime Rib is a Friday special. I added a loaded baked potato to that, and I'm having my one-a-week beer. Having this meal reminded me of my next-door neighbor back home, who would say before the start of every bike trip, "Have a good meal on the road," as he handed me enough money for that and more. He died last December at age 99, but I'll always remember what a kind and helpful neighbor he was. I finished my dinner with an apple fritter topped with ice cream. Then back to the campsite at 7:49pm for final wrap up on the reports.

There's an impressive storm to the north. It may get here overnight, but it's slowed down some.

It's 10:15pm now, and I'm caught up on the reports! Bedtime. Good night.

Jeff

Spent: $6.05 plus $2 (breakfast) + $6 (laundry machines) + $39.58 (tire) + $28.08 plus $6 (supper) + $20 (campsite) = 107.71.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltArrowhead. You can eat its tubers.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sagittaria_sagittifolia
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Tomahawk Park picnic shelter - Broken Bow, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0