Day 4 - ending at Broken Bow, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2019

Day 4 - ending at Broken Bow, NE

A nearby train woke me at 5:42pm. Although it was warm and humid, I'd slept well. First job this morning was to change the front tire. The replacement is from my 2011 tour. It's showing age cracking, but I want to save my new Giant FlatGuard for the rear, if needed.

My next destination is Tomahawk Campground in Broken Bow. I'm planning to a take the day off there, and figured report writing could (would have to) wait until then.

On my way at 10:10am. The shortcut I'd figured out at home for getting to downtown Ravenna was foiled by it being on railroad property. So a ride east, then north across the tracks, and back west was the alternative that worked for me. What didn't work was eating at Christie's Kitchen at 10:38am. Their sign said they close at 11:00am, but the grill is turned off at 10:15am. So, I bought two bottles of Gatorade at the Fill-N-Chill across the street, then located the Farmhouse Grill. The five minute wait I had until they were open was worth it. Very good Western Burger with cottage cheese and lemonade. Plus ice to-go.

Left at 11:45am riding west through town, then on a gravel road to get back to Route 2. Noon occurred near a cemetery on the gravel road. Only 5.4 miles to report. 

Met up with NE-2 at 12:23pm. At 12:40pm I was at the Sherman County Line, where I found some shade for a break. There was a nice east breeze behind me, I shouldn't need a break, except it was hot and bright in the sun. Then I remembered that sunglasses would help, and they did!

I passed Hazard at 1:24pm, and arrived at Litchfield at 2:07pm. I found a place open along the highway and thought "ice cream". Inside, however, I found they close at 2:00pm. They did sell me a root beer, and let me take a nap outside on their picnic table. It was a very short nap, but it helped. Moving on I came to Litchfield's rest area. Cold water here. I filled up, finally leaving town at 2:34pm.

At 2:55pm I entered Custer County and started seeing road work signs. I was waved on by the flagman working the road construction, and made it through the one-lane bridge OK. Interesting road work machines in use, but I couldn't figure out what exactly they do.

Mason City was the end of the road work, and I was there at 3:32pm. It had been getting cloudy, and now I was hearing thunder. A check of the radar indicated I could maybe get to Ansley without getting wet. That worked. I stopped at Ansley's park at 4:15pm for another radar check. A boy who'd been fishing with his father and brother came up to me and said, "You better find a place to go. I'm hearing thunder." Radar did show rain in Berwyn ahead, and more in Broken Bow. I got out my rain gear and covered the bike cargo with plastic. I was under a shelter in this park when it started raining here. At 5:30pm it let up a little, so I left.

It was light rain for me until 6:27pm, when I arrived in Berwyn. The rain had stopped. An older couple on an evening walk paused to visit. They invited me to stay at their place tonight if I wanted to stop! The sky was clearing ahead, so I thanked them and continued on, arriving in Broken Bow at 7:30pm.

Tomahawk Campground is on the west side of town, and the thought came to me to pick up supper along the way. So I stopped at McDonald's and Casey's before arriving at the campground at 7:53pm. I checked out camping options, and decided to upgrade to an RV slot (site #7). That gives me electricity. I set the tent up on the gravel, ate supper at the shelter, then took a shower. That's better!

I had the thought today that I wanted to do this tour on the bike I used in 2011, but not on the tires I used in 2011! However, at least for today, that's what I did!

Jeff

Spent: $3.58 (Gatorade) + $11.50 plus $3 (lunch) + $1 (root beer) + $7.58 (supper) + $20 (campsite) = $46.66.

Day 4 - Ravenna, NE to Broken Bow, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ part of downtown - Ravenna, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
+ curving to cross the tracks on 370th Road +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ between the tracks on 370th Road +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Rest Area along Route 2 - Litchfield, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 180 miles (290 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0