Day 2 - ending at Aurora, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2019

Day 2 - ending at Aurora, NE

After sleeping well, I was awake at 4:45am. All loaded and on my way at 8:09am. Headed to Seward's town square for breakfast at Cafe on the Square. Done at 9:02am, with ice overflowing in my Klean Kanteen, I headed out.

Still in town, I passed a business that caught my interest. Standing power poles without cables were in their parking lot. Turns out the factory makes power poles. Across the street from that business is Moffet Park, where I rigged up the smartphone for charging from the bike. The bike's battery was at 12.3v. I plan to leave the generator engaged all day to see what the voltage is this evening.

I was finally heading out of town at 9:27am. Great riding on a bright and sunny morning. There was a crop duster ahead. I was too far away for pictures of it. I've seen several crop dusters while touring. I'm now convinced that they alter their spraying pattern when they see a touring bicyclist. And this is the second one I've noticed where the pilot goes out of their way to provide a photo opportunity. This one was the best I've seen - at power pole height over the highway coming right at me. And I missed getting a picture! It happened too fast. Think North by Northwest (1959).

I'd just turned on my radio/mp3 player when the rear tire blew. It was 9:56am. As I got started with the repair, I wondered if I could get this fixed in under an hour. I couldn't find a cause for the trouble, but did notice that the blowout also damaged the tire's rim seal. Time for a new tire - well, a 2011 used tire.

While I worked, one pick-up truck driver pulled up to offer help. But I had everything I needed, and was back rolling west at 11:16am. My progress for the day so far was 4.7 miles. My end-of-day hope was 48 miles, which would put me at Streeter Park in Aurora. Still, at 11:35am, I stopped for a break in the shade at a cemetery. I wasn't there too long - the noon mileage report was ahead. I'd gone 10.3 miles by noon! I was happy with that, all things considered.

US-34 is flat between Seward and Aurora, and I was moving along well on a smooth shoulder. At 12:25pm I passed Utica, and at 1:03pm made a turn south into Waco. Pre-trip planning had me eating lunch at Hunter's Restaurant in town. It was very good. I had a to-go Gatorade added to my bill, then continued on.

At 3:00pm I passed York on its north and west sides. West of York the shoulder is in poor shape, with cracks that bump the bike. When traffic allowed, I rode on the highway.

I was passing through Hampton at 5:18pm, and stopped at CVA Country Store (gas station) for chocolate milk and peanuts. Aurora was the next town. At 6:25pm I arrived at Streeter Park. Their camping area with water and electricity is donation-based. I'm set up between a no-one-home older motor home and a trailer with a couple from Ohio. The trailer gentleman told me about $2 showers being available at the nearby swimming pool. I took advantage of that. He also told me of possible storms tonight at 2:00am, so I got ready for that.

The bike's battery was at 12.5v this evening. Tonight's AC charge should bring it up to 12.9v.

I'm going to sleep (at 10:25pm) while I can, and let the overnight storm wake me up for report writing.

Jeff

Spent: $13.13 plus $3 tip (breakfast) + $12.15 plus $3 tip (lunch, Gatorade) + $4.37 (chocolate milk, peanuts) + $10 (camping donation) + $2 (shower) = $47.65.

Day 2 - Seward, NE to Aurora, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Cafe on the Square - Seward, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSmartweed.

http://www.bio.brandeis.edu/fieldbio/Survival/Pages/smartweed.html
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Timothy SwitzerV-8 water pump? Is it pushing an irrigation system?
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTim,
Yes, running a well pump. The motor was so loud! Only time for a quick picture.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 73 miles (117 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen JonesWell done on the noon mileage! But you're enjoying yourself and we're enjoying your tour and that's all that's important. Onward!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonYork! I’d forgotten this was a place. If it’s where I’m remembering, I slept on a couch in the lobby of a college dorm there, after convincing a resident that I was a safe bet.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I'm finding that I'm thinking of you every noon! If we were keeping score, I think you'd win.
I am enjoying this, and glad you are also.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
I'm afraid I'll remember York as nothing more than a bypass town, since that's what I did!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago