Day 1 - Adair, IA to Lincoln, NE (Driving) to Seward, NE (Bicycling) - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2019

Day 1 - Adair, IA to Lincoln, NE (Driving) to Seward, NE (Bicycling)

Awake at 4:40am this morning. All done with report and packing at 7:18am. A short drive back toward I-80, with a stop for breakfast before the interstate, at Chuckwagon Restaurant. I was their only customer the whole time I was there. Went back to my truck afterwards to get my Klean Kanteen for filling with ice. At 8:06am I headed off for the last two hours of driving. Except it was more than that thanks to getting lost looking for a gas station in Lincoln.

Finally at the airport's South Parking Lot at 10:34am. Shortly after, I met Connie, the Facility Manager for parking, who came over from the nearby office to welcome me! (Last week we'd been in email communication about parking and coupons.)

After final checks, at 11:20am, I pushed the bike around the exit gate arm and officially started this bike tour. I followed a road east and north to get to US-34, arriving there at 11:50am. Today's goal was to get to Seward, about 20 miles to the west on US-34, where there is a campground.
At noon I was at the US-34/NE-79 junction. Noon mileage report: 5.5 miles. 

At 12:42pm, I parked the bike on the shoulder to take a picture, and the breeze from a passing truck rolled the bike halfway down a hill into the weeds. Great! That usually breaks the flag pole, but this time it didn't. In fact, everything was OK except the pause button on my mp3 player. I can live without that. 

I started getting into hills as the afternoon went on. They were expected, and weren't too bad at first. Later I was stopping a lot for breaks. I didn't walk today, but did have to stand on the pedals a few times. I took a 15-minute break, starting at 2:01pm, with 6.4 straight-line miles to go. I needed some energy, but couldn't find the peanuts I thought I'd packed. Then I remembered the second bottle of Gatorade I'd bought yesterday. That helped, and I was on my way again.

The road leveled out three miles east of Seward, and I was stopping for a picture at their city sign at 3:17pm. A little later I was at their "Parade of Flags". Flags for all the states fly there. Continuing on, I rode a short section of trail, then residential streets to get to Dairy Queen, arriving at 3:48pm. I had a Bacon Cheese Grillburger and a large banana shake for supper in their air conditioned dining area.

A short ride south got me to Blue Valley Campground at 4:36pm. I had the tent set up and loaded by 5:28pm. Starting at 5:55pm, I took a twenty-minute nap on the bench by the playground. There was a gentle breeze while I was there. On to report writing. Later I had to get a phone recharge from the bike's battery.

It's very still - and warm - now. I wish that breeze would come back.

Report is about done. I have to wait for darkness - which is almost here - for picture selection, since I can't see the pictures well on this phone in the light of day.

Anyway, I'm on my way, even if it was a short day.

Jeff

Spent: $9.29 (supper) + $7 (campsite) = $16.29.

Day 1 - Lincoln, NE to Seward, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 23 miles (37 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0