To Haapsalu - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2015

To Haapsalu

The campsite was quiet last night, except for the traffic noise. I need to try to get further off the road, and to make my camps a bit more "stealth".

My campsite in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's theme was nothingness. There was a lot of it.

9 a.m. view
Heart 0 Comment 0
11 a.m. view
Heart 0 Comment 0
1 p.m. view
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Estonian forest is really thick! And once you're outside of a town, there really is nothing but forest there.

While Sweden had slugs on the road (yes, in addition to in my campsite), Estonia has snails. Sometimes they're so dense you can't avoid riding over them. They smash with sort of a disturbing crunch.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had made instant coffee and had a bite to eat before I left camp, but really wanted a good breakfast. After 10 miles, I came to a cafe. I was disappointed it wasn't open for the day yet, and ended up across the street at sort of a convenience store. They weren't especially well stocked. I made a breakfast of the cyclist's favorite food - ice cream! That, along with some cappuccino flavored kefir. It was really pretty good. Or maybe I was pretty hungry. I didn't see another store or cafe or restaurant until nearly in Haapsalu.

Then I rode and I rode. I don't have my touring legs (or butt) yet, and I struggled today. Then it started to rain. All in a good day's ride, right? I used my phone to make a reservation for a hostel outside of Haapsalu. It's interesting how that works. I made my reservation using booking.com "guaranteed lowest rate" for 20 euros. A short time later I was double checking the location, and the price for a single with shared bath, what I booked, had dropped to 15 euros. It's hard to know what to do.

Within 10 km or so of Haapsalu, the forest opened up into farmland.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ready for winter?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bus stop, about 3 miles from my destination. I spent about 30 minutes here cowering from the rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm at Haapsalu Kutsehariduskeskuse hostel. Its another dorm used as a hostel in the summer, this time at a business school.

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 349 km (217 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0