The Plan - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2015

The Plan

  1. Leave my job in Fort Collins, Colorado.
  2. Move out of my rental home in Fort Collins, and back into my own home in Colorado Springs.
  3. Repair or touch up any damage that occurred in my own home while it was rented out.
  4. Visit with my mother and sister, either at my sister's place in Albuquerque, or my place in Colorado Springs.
  5. Learn to pack my new S&S coupled bike. Build a cardboard bike box, 26x26x10 inches.
  6. Pack my new S&S coupled bike as well as panniers, camping equipment, clothing, bike maintenance and repair equipment.
  7. Leave for the airport, for a flight to Stockholm.
  8. Fly to Stockholm.
  9. Ride my bike for a long while.
  10. Fly home.

It sounds straightforward (doesn't it?), but most of those items are more complicated than the number of words would seem to imply. I'm sure I'll manage, but right now, I'm a bit overwhelmed.

I haven't planned out my route very carefully yet, but I would really like to ride through the Baltic countries, Poland, (it gets fuzzy in here) and end up in Istanbul. I'll need to avoid that little bit of Russia between Lithuania and Poland, and also avoid Belarus, since I'm not planing on getting the visas. I'll be limited to three months in the Schengen countries due to that visa, so there is some motivation to wander into non-Schengen countries like the Ukraine and Romania. However I have a friend I could visit in Budapest, which would take me further west. We'll see.

This is the route that I might ride. (Subject to spontaneous changes.)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0