Camping on the Baltic Sea - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2015

Camping on the Baltic Sea

The theme for today was wind! It was pouring rain when I got up this morning. I actually thought it was the plumbing at the hostel, but it was the rain on the roof and in the gutters. It had stopped by the time I left, but I had traded the water for the wind. It got pretty bad once I cleared the outskirts of Tallinn, and I was grinding along on the flat in a headwind at 5 to 6 mph. I was headed toward Paldiski, with a planned cut-off before town.

Just before the cut-off, there was a side road to the Baltic, and I made an impromptu decision to camp there for the night. I had wanted to get further today, but the wind wore me down The area is pretty heavily used, with fire rings and also trash scattered about. I waited about an hour before setting up camp. During that time a family came by, foraging for something, and also a couple of guys walking the beach. I set up in the woods, about 50 feet back from the beach, to get out of the wind. That put me in with the bugs, and there are a lot of them (mosquitoes, flies, bees, biting ants, you name it). The bug dope I have seems pretty effective, but I made the mistake of dropping my pants before getting it out! I thought I might get cleaned up a bit in the sea, but there are people about, and the water is cold and looks muddy. I hope I have a quiet night, and that this isn't a party spot!

On the road! Estonia bike route 1, EuroVelo 10.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dark clouds ahead?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 277 km (172 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0