To wild camp, 8 km south of Lihula - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2015

To wild camp, 8 km south of Lihula

Today was about people. People on bikes, and people in cars and on motorcycles.

There was a German guy on a bike at the hostel last night. I didn't meet him until this morning, but we're headed in the same direction, and I bumped into him a few times today. Here he is leaving a coffee shop, the last time I saw him. He was headed toward the Estonian islands, and I was headed to the city of Parnu.

The German cyclist. He's hauling a trailer and full rear panniers. We didn't talk packing lists.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped and talked with a Dutch couple going the opposite direction. They had come from Riga, and were still upset that RyanAir had changed their bike policy and now require boxes.

I saw some other cyclists, as well, but didn't stop to chat.

The countryside was pretty.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After a big intersection, traffic picked up considerably. There were packs of motorcycles. I don't know if they were travelling in groups like that, or just got bunched up behind a slower vehicle.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped in the town of Lihula. It's a pretty town, with something unique in Estonia: a hill!

Heart 0 Comment 0
USA Today? Not sure what this was. I wouldn't mind catching up on news.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is also a tourist information center, at the top of the hill, in a historic building with some galleries.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped and asked about nearby accommodation for the night. I figured a town big enough for a staffed tourist information center would have accommodation. The advice I got surprised me. There was nothing nearby, and the woman I spoke with suggested I just wild camp. So I did.

Several kilometers south of Lihula I took a side road, unpaved, and went up about another 0.6 km. There was an open field with a hunter's blind, and I set up at the base of the blind. The grass was tall, and it was buggy. It's hard to set up in the forest because the trees are so dense, and there is also thick vegetation between the trees.

I set up my tent quickly, to be able to get away from the bugs, but I cooked dinner and hung out on the dirt road. There was one car that came by after about 2 hours.

I boiled some eggs with my dinner. The remarkable thing is not that I cooked eggs. It's that they survived, unbroken, in my panniers on the rough road.

Wild camp, south of Lihula. That's a collapsing barn far in the back, and a hunter's blind up close.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 411 km (255 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0