Transporting bike safely on public transportation - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

November 1, 2023 to November 2, 2023

Transporting bike safely on public transportation

Day 19, 20 (Chikamagaluru to Bengaluru)

Over the last two days, I found myself in a rush to reach Bengaluru. Simultaneously, I embarked on a mission to explore safe ways of transporting my bike, especially if I needed to utilize public transport.

My route led me in the opposite direction, heading towards the Birur train station to inquire about the possibility of shipping my bike via train. After gathering the necessary information, I resumed my journey toward Bengaluru, passing through extensive landscapes of coconut farms and ragi (finger millet) fields.

Lucky to taste Dragon fruits from this farmer's farm.
Heart 2 Comment 0

During a conversation with a family friend, who had graciously hosted me during my previous visits to Chikamagaluru, I learned that a cousin, Vivek, resides on my route to Bengaluru. Despite carrying my tent and sleeping bag, ready for a night outdoors, Vivek insisted that I stay at his house with his parents. Grateful for his hospitality, I abandoned my initial plans and accepted his generous offer.

Ragi farm (Finger millet)
Heart 3 Comment 0

I arrived in Bengaluru after two days of riding, covering approximately 250 km (155 miles) in the heat.

In Bengaluru, I visited iCycle.in to box my bike for a reasonable Rs 250. However, the bike box was not large enough to accommodate the front wheel along with the rest of the bike. Then, I opted for a "porter," an app-based transportation rental, to get to the bus station, incurring a cost of Rs 600. From there, I boarded a bus to Belagavi, paying Rs 1071, with an additional Rs 250 for "extra luggage." Luckily, I could keep the front wheel of the bike with me in the Volvo sleeper bus. Upon reaching my hometown, Belagavi, I took a regular Bajaj Maxima rickshaw for Rs 200.

In total, I successfully transported my bike with me for a cost of Rs 2300 (USD 30) 

Channabasaveshwara Temple, Gubbi
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 254 km (158 miles)
Total: 1,942 km (1,206 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallCongratulations on a great adventure! I enjoyed your journal and have recommended it to a friend who is soon to visit India. It takes a lot of courage to cycle through a Tiger reserve. Best wishes,
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Girish HemashettarHello George, thanks for your comments and all I will say I was "FOOLISH" to have ridden solo through the tiger reserves. I was hyper-alert or even on the edge of my little seat but not sure if I would take such chances especially ride through the second Tiger reserve which had worse roads and conditions..:-(

By the way, please feel free to pass my contact info (hemashettar@gmail.com) to your friend. I am here for another 6 months or longer and planning to ride/learn more.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago