Day - 1 ( Bengaluru to Yadiyur) - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2023

Day - 1 ( Bengaluru to Yadiyur)

This is my first time bikepacking in the country I was born in, where I learned to pedal and where I pedaled to adulthood. But this was also the country where I was mortally scared to cycle in.

I still brought my fat bike, "Mistergordo" on British Airways to Bengaluru. I will write another entry detailing how I packed my bike and what I packed on my bike when I bikepacked.

Some of your fellow roadway users.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Having grown up cycling here, I knew how to cycle in the chaos that Indian roads can be. One day before starting my journey, I unpacked my bike box, put my bike together, and took it for a ride in Bengaluru to purchase a spare tube (26 X 4-inch tube). This was also to pump some confidence into me.

I felt good and packed my bike hoping to hit the road early the next day. My ultimate destination was to reach Belagavi (Belgaum) where I was born and where my extended family lives. That's about 500 km if I rode on the highway but I wanted to take a scenic route.

On D-day, I needed a lot of cajoling to get out of my cousin's place even though my bike was completely packed and waiting. After a bit of pep talk and some guidance on an easier route to get through Bengaluru traffic, I started rolling at around 9 AM. 

Riding through Bengaluru's traffic
Heart 3 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesLooks absolutely terrifying.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

The day was young and cloudy, as I rolled past the many glass-facade buildings and through the chaos before taking the diversion towards Mangalore.

On the Indian highways, the breakdown lane is a safe and clean lane to bike on.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Riding on the national highways here is a safer bet as they usually have a clean and wide breakdown lane where it's usually you and other two-wheelers. So, it's easy to pick up speed and chip away miles. Obviously, this isn't the most scenic option though.

Beautiful scenery along the way
Heart 4 Comment 0

The landscape changed for the better as I started riding past lush green farms interspersed with hills with boulders on them. I cycled through some elephant corridors and finally got closer to my destination for that night. Rain had forced me to take shelter at a restaurant and that's where some curious folks struck up conversations with me regarding this weird bike. They recommended a lodge in Yadiyur which is also a famous town with a historic temple.

Beautiful hills along Elephant corridor
Heart 7 Comment 0

I rolled into Yadiyur just as sunset and darkness took over the reins. I freshened up and visited the temple before letting my family in Belgaum know that I was taking the slow route and not the bus/train...

Today's ride: 114 km (71 miles)
Total: 114 km (71 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe are really looking forward to reading about this journey. It sounds both challenging and also fascinating. Have a wonderful time!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago