Day - 2 (Yadiyur to Chikkamagaluru) - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2023

Day - 2 (Yadiyur to Chikkamagaluru)

Colors and fragrances of an Indian morning
Heart 3 Comment 0

I had a long day ahead, so started early but finding some Rs.5 coins ( ~ 6 cents) to refill my water bottle with purified water delayed my start. This is a great initiative by the government (I am not sure if it's a state or national initiative) to provide 30-40 liters of clean, potable water to villagers at a cost of some 6 cents (5 rupees). 

Rs.5 (~ 6+ cents) gets you 30-40 liters of purified, potable water.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesBut how to get it on the bike?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Girish HemashettarTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHaha.:-) I use a 3-liter camelback bladder. People were kind enough to let me fill 3 liters before they would fill their 30-40 liters..
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I hit the road by 730 AM and immediately was slowed down by  "speed bumps", such as monkeys, cranes, wild peacocks, great hornbills, and the beautiful countryside as the morning mist was still hugging the fields, and earth and not ready to let it go. 

Heart 4 Comment 0

I took a lot of breaks to take in the scenery, breath in the fresh morning and listen to the beautiful calls of peacocks and harsh calls of hornbills. Sadly, the beautiful peacocks, curious monkeys, and magnificent elephants all create havoc in farmers', villager's lives on a daily basis. In Yadiyur, I'd read an article in the newspaper about the death of a man injured by wild elephants as he tried to protect the crops.

I had the pleasure, and resources to experience and walk away while the folks who live here face the daily realities of man vs nature face offs.

Heart 5 Comment 0

I thought of my cycling experiences in South America as I raked up more miles on Indian roads.

These folks bought me coffee, and gifted me 3 dried coconuts that fueled me for the next week.
Heart 3 Comment 0

People here went out of their way to help me, to treat me to coffee/tea, and food. Their concern, and appreciation for what I was doing were incomprehensible to me. In Indian culture, folks walk for days/weeks on their way to a religious place/temple in the mountains. While I at least had a bike to carry me.

The fat bike makes it so easy to strike and continue conversations because it's so weird, comfortable, and a different beast. So, this was only the beginning..

Today's ride: 148 km (92 miles)
Total: 262 km (163 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0