Making most of an opportunity to drop off a car - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2023

Making most of an opportunity to drop off a car

I needed to drop off a car at the local airport as my sister was planning to use it for a trip with her family. I had the foresight to bring a bike carrier while coming back from the US. So, I loaded the bike onto the car and decided to get some miles in.

Getting the bike to the airport
Heart 1 Comment 0

I started at Belagavi's airport, which is about 10 km outside of this sprawling city. Because it's on the outskirts, it's mostly villages and farms you ride past. I rode past sugarcane, jowar (a kind of millet), beans, okra, cucumber, peanuts, and eggplant farms. I was also fortunate to be able to buy some local produce like fresh, unripe peanuts (a delicacy once roasted) and guavas. Sadly, I couldn't buy custard apple as they would get smushed in my bag.

Local produce of tender green peas, peanuts, and sweet potatoes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Enjoying the local custard apples and guavas in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a hilly route, but I was also not fully loaded. And it was a hot day but a wonderful day to ride through the countryside and parts of Belgaum where my grandfather came from.

A common scene in the countryside
Heart 3 Comment 0

I rode through the backroads, basically seeking fewer roads with less traffic. The first half of the ride got me such roads, while the latter half was Belgaum-Gokak road. So, I had to ride defensively from the loads of buses and trucks carrying sugarcane to the local sugar factory.

Finally, I got home around 4 pm to a well-earned meal.

Today's ride: 67 km (42 miles)
Total: 2,009 km (1,248 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0