Back to the start - A Missing Link - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2022

Back to the start

Redmond to Mitchell

I hadn’t planned it this way.  A 68-mile day one is not my idea of sensible.  But when you arrive at the midway point campground at noon you keep going, because who wants to sit around all day?

The ride up the 20 mile grade before Mitchell was spectacular though.  I often listen to music but I turned it off and listened to nature…wind blowing through grass and trees, birds singing spring songs, babbling brooks, well babbling.  The grasses were green and fresh.

I read that this area is re-introducing beaver to help heal the ecosystem.  It seems the 1800 beaver skin hat fad is over and we can put the beavers back where they belong.  I saw many areas that could have beaver but I never saw one.  Still it was fun looking.


I felt good for most of the ride and had just linked up with Tim and John from the UK.  But about a mile from the top I hit a wall.  The ol’Legs had had enough.  I told the English blokes to go ahead and I suffered alone.  After the summit there is a lot of downhill but the final stretch to Mitchell was pure hell.  I arrived totally shattered.

Still, I made it and more or less recovered.   The strangest thing is that I have been mostly doing 15-20 mile rides at home a few times a week on an unloaded bike.  How in the world did I ride so far today!?  Maybe I will be shattered tomorrow?  We will see.

But all in all it was a good day.  I am staying at the famous Spoke and Hostel and had fun chewing the fat with some of the other riders.

Pics another time.  I don’t have the energy right now 😂. 

Good night.

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 194 miles (312 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Suzanne GibsonGreat to see you back on the road! Looking forward to your journal!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsI'll be about 23 days behind you and will be eagerly following your ride to see what I can learn.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Donna WMHope you took it a little easier today. This is supposed to be a REST from your job!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
diana Fernandes-LisiTake care Karen. ❤️🥳
Reply to this comment
1 year ago