Final Thoughts and Ramblings - A Missing Link - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2022

Final Thoughts and Ramblings

Well, I guess I am a two time loser on this route but what can you do? 

I think in the long run my eye will adjust, but for now it does feel more irritated as my brain adjusts to new floaters.  So I think stopping was the right choice.  In my younger days I might have kept going, although in my younger days my eye would have likely not gotten all kerfuffled. 

Still, the fact that I was able to ride almost 70 miles on day 1, when I have not really been riding more than 25 a couple times a week (and usually less than that) all year shows I still have some giddy-up left in tank. 

I turn 60 in August so I better not take it for granted though.  I better keep my giddy-up going or lose it entirely.

I have done little weekend type tours the past couple of years that are too short and ordinary to write about, some of them are repeats of previous trips so I wouldn't even know what to say.  Still, the mini-trips keep me in the game.

I will plan longer trips though.  I am looking forward to riding in Europe again.  Maybe as my brain cells have matured and deteriorated I have grown to appreciate the appeal of towns being closer together.  That sure would have helped me on this trip on the first day, when my 2 choices were sit in a hot, dry campground from 12:00-noon until bedtime or ride another 45ish miles.   I am pretty sure that day set the tone for my demise.

I was surprised at how many Europeans I met in the short time I was out there.  It's nice to see after being shut down for a couple of years.

So I guess that's a rap.  See you on the next journal!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0