Day 9 - ending near Modoc, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2022

Day 9 - ending near Modoc, IN

Day 9 - Gas City, IN to Modoc, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

Halfway through last night I had to put on socks and get out my hand warmer. Up at 5:05am. Report writing/posting and packing brought me to 10:45am. I was hoping to visit some more with Bill this morning, but he was still sleeping. I left him a note, then took off. Later, Bill sent me a text. He'd spent today catching up on his Facebook journal, and mentioned me in yesterday's entry.

My destination today was Adventure Bound Camping Resort near Modoc. But first, breakfast in Upland. 

I arrived at Ivanhoes at 11:31am. I got in line before looking at the menu, so went with what was on their board. They are set up as an order-here, pick-up-there place. Outside stands Garfield, who apparently likes ice cream.

Noon report: 3.7 miles.

Left town going south at 12:28pm. Arrived at Cumberland Bridge near Matthews at 1:10pm. This 1877 covered bridge had been washed downstream in a 1913 flood, but was put back in place. I took a break in their park, then left at 1:36pm for Gaston, where the Cardinal Greenway Trail continues.

Arrived at the trailhead in Gaston at 2:18pm. There are information boards at the trailheads. Gaston's board was titled "Down on the Farm." I found it amusing that chickens were wandering around the trailhead. On to Muncie.

I made it through Muncie, but it wasn't fun. Most of the road crossings are at-grade, and at angles with the trail. At 3:46pm I was stopped at McGalliard Road. Four lanes of Friday afternoon traffic going by Olive Garden, Texas Roadhouse, and Red Lobster. It was stand and wait. Did finally make it across, thanks to a space big enough to wait between lanes.

South of Muncie I met two older gentlemen on recumbents at the Medford Trailhead, where I was taking a break. They went my way until CR-534 East Trailhead, where we talked some more. Then they headed back.

Through Blountsville at 6:25pm, and Losantville at 6:54pm, where I left the trail to get to the campground. 

I arrived at Kamp Modoc, a resort campground, at 7:23pm. The fellow checking me in was quite impressed with what I was doing - at my age. I gave him my journal address. There was another camper in the office, who overheard my area code as I was providing my phone number, and said it was the same as his. He lives in Roseville, Illinois. I've been through Roseville many times on trips to visit my Uncle Gene.

Outside the office I talked with a lady who was sitting on a golf cart holding a box of pizza. She listened about my trip, and where I had worked. Then she told me her campsite site number and offered that I stop by for some pizza!

I had the tent up when the fellow from the check-in office stopped by. He'd already read a little of my journal, and offered some Gatorade he had, reading I drink that. I told him I'd get some cold in the morning from the store (I didn't realize at the time they wouldn't be open until 9:00am).

I took a sunset picture from the road behind my site, then stopped by the campsite of the lady who'd given me the pizza offer. I was just going to give her my journal address, but she insisted I take some pizza - and a soda! She even offered more drinks and breakfast tomorrow, but the pizza and soda was enough for me, and so very good!

The camp was full of children and families. The announcement of a movie starting was made over the PA system. I could hear the movie, which was playing in a building close to me, but I didn't hear what the title was - some children's movie. I imagine this place makes fun memories for kids.

The moon was bright again tonight, as I made my way to bed at 11:25pm.

Jeff

Spent: $3.75 (Gatorade) + $12.95 plus $3 (lunch) + $65.27 (campsite) = $84.97.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice macro! Bumblebee might be a two-spotted bumblebee.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/52779-Bombus-bimaculatus

Thistle is likely musk thistle.

https://uswildflowers.com/detail.php?SName=Carduus%20nutans
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
An expert on flowers and insects!
Thanks.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 335 miles (539 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jeff LeeI remember riding on the bike path next to that Olive Garden in Muncie!

(https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/neversayneveragain/nice-day/)

I might have been luckier than you with the traffic when I did it; I don't remember it being so bad crossing the busy road(s), but I do remember being grateful the bike path was there. It would have been nearly impossible to ride through the area without it.

Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
I'm sure I would have thought better of the crossings in Muncie had it been a different time of day. Also, I was remembering how the trail though Marion had been so hassle-free, being mostly above and below roads. I agree - any trail is better than no trail.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago