Day 10 - ending at Metamora, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2022

Day 10 - ending at Metamora, IN

Day 10 - Modoc, IN to Metamora, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 4:05am. Needed to get an early start to make it to today's destination - Metamora, Indiana, 63 miles away according to my pre-trip calculations. I ate two pop tarts just before leaving at 7:06am. No Gatorade supply since the camp store wasn't open yet, and probably no breakfast until I reached Richmond.

A few miles mostly south got me back on the Cardinal Greenway Trail at 7:40am. The trail was a delight in the early morning light. Lots of small towns along the way, too small unfortunately, to have a place to eat. Up the trail a ways past Economy, I stopped to chat with a gentleman in his eighties, who was on his way back to Economy. He walks three miles a day. He'd passed me when I was on Indian Trail Road, and wanted to hear about my trip.

At 10:02am, I was next to a Richmond sign. My plan was to eat at Joann's Cafe at the south side of Richmond. My first diversion off the trail would be to see Thistlethwaite Falls. Back on the Cardinal Greenway Trail after that until its end at 10:50am. But at its end was the start of the Whitewater Gorge Trail. I would divert off this trail to get to the cafe. This trail was a little more up and down and rugged, but not as bad as a mountain bike trail.

At 11:15am, I was at the location where Google Maps had indicated a short path to the road. I didn't see any path going up the hill. I removed my GPS off the bike and went into "Geocaching" mode. I was right on the waypoint. "There's no path here!" As I've been told many times, Google Maps can get you lost. Oh well, maybe there will be a gas station somewhere along this afternoon's road route.

At 11:29am, I was at the end of the Whitewater Gorge Trail and at their Test Road Trailhead. I stopped for a break in the shade of a tree in their parking lot. Google Maps searching didn't show any gas stations ahead on my route. I ate a protein bar and a granola bar, and tried out one of the Nuun tablets Bill had given me. Drank that whole bottle and made another. It fizzes, so I had to leave the lid a little loose. I also called my wife. She has a bad cold. She told me to stay away.

A fellow on a bike pulling a trailer showed up during my phone call. He had his bike upside down by the time my call ended. He didn't need anything - was just straightening the rear wheel since the tire was rubbing against the chain stay. He said he was homeless and it's hard to find a place to stay overnight in this area. After exchanging best wishes I was on my way at 12:10pm.

Mileage at noon for today was 24.4 miles - certainly not halfway.

It was uphill from the trailhead, then reasonably level on my country road route. At 1:46pm I took a break at the corner of CR-5100S and CR-9300W (Tice Road). Made another Nuun tablet mix. With no Gatorade, I was thankful Bill had given me these tablets.

I was focused now on how far away Connersville was, since there would be food there. Detour signs were posted as I neared Waterloo Road, my road into town. Of course the detour took me north and west to IN-1. Route 1 goes straight into Connersville from the north, but is a busy highway with very narrow shoulder. I made it into town, with a lot of pulling off along the way. I turned off the highway and found a residential street way to get to Kunkel's Drive-in Restaurant. Had the Kunkel Super Burger, potato salad, and root beer. As I was about to leave, the weather app on my phone warned of rain in nine minutes. I headed back north to Roberts Park to get under a pavilion, picking up a to-go Dairy Queen banana split along the way. Well, the rain was nothing, but the banana split was very good.

I left Roberts Park at 5:40pm back on route to get to Metamora. I passed the train station where an engine and several passenger cars were sitting ready to go on a trip, which was to Metamora [I thought]. I walked over to the station and a train attendant started telling me about the engine. Five of that model were made but this is the only one left. I told the fellow I was heading to Metamora myself (he knew I was on a bike) and was hoping I could use the restroom in the station before I left town. He graciously show me the way, which was through the group receiving instructions on their upcoming trip. It was a solve the murder mystery along-the-way trip. Back out of the restroom, the station was empty, since all the riders were boarding the train. This gave me an opportunity to take a few pictures of the inside of the station. I'd left my bike across the street. When I got back to it the train was just taking off. That was fun to watch, with all the whistle blowing. I wished I was riding the train the rest of the way to Metamora myself!

My ride to Metamora started out on IN-121, which parallels the track for ways and then gets into hills. I passed through Milltown and Alpine. The next town, Laurel, has a steep walk-up hill into town, and then a downhill in town. I left IN-121 in Laurel, passed the town's place to eat - the Laurel Hotel, then stopped just across railroad tracks at 7:45pm to make sure I was on the correct road (Laurel Road). As I looked back, there was the Connersville/Metamora train on down the track a ways, with no one around! I'm guessing everyone was eating dinner at the restaurant. At first I thought I could still beat the train to Metamora, then figured they'd already been there, and were on their way back. [Researching just now, I see the train ride was just to Laurel, then back to Connersville.]

Just after crossing the Whitewater River, I turned right onto no-outlet Dam Road. It's no outlet for vehicles, but it looked to me from pretrip research, that bicycles could get through to Metamora on a new section of the Whitewater Canal Trail. The road was near the railroad track and also the Whitewater River. At 8:15pm, I was at the Laurel Feeder Dam. My timing made for a good near-sunset picture.

I rigged up to charge my phone from the bike's lights/GPS battery, and continued on, what I thought was the new trail. I didn't get far, though, because this section is still under construction. I wasn't at the end of the road yet, so wasn't concerned.

After sunset I was at the completed west end of the trail near the end of Dam Road. I turned on my headlight, and got started. Riding the trail was a joy - I just wish I was seeing it in daylight. This section of the trail ended at a trailhead just west of Metamora.

A short ride east on US-52 brought me into town. I headed to Gateway Park, where I set up at the same spot I was at in 2015. I called to check in, and left a message.

Shower next, then ready to sleep at 12:27am. It's great to be back.

Jeff

Spent: $6.84 plus $5 (lunch) + $4.80 (banana split) + $10 (campsite) = $26.64.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 403 miles (649 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen JonesLong day! But seems like one of the best days. And your biggest noon mileage yet.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting about the train in Connersville I know one of the engineers (Greg Borgwald). Was hoping for a picture of him!

Enjoying the journey as always! Keep pedaling...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Yes. Yes.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
All the volunteers of the Whitewater Valley Railroad I met were top-notch. Sorry I don't have a picture of your friend.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago