Day 11 - still at Metamora, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2022

Day 11 - still at Metamora, IN

visiting Metamora, Indiana

Woke to rain this morning at 7:25am. A planned day off today, to enjoy the day in Metamora - and to work on reports. The rain stopped, then was heavy at 7:55am. I took a fifty minute nap until 9:40am, when the rain was done.

Google Maps indicated it was a 3 minute bike ride, or a 7 minute walk to get to Have-A-Bite Restaurant. I walked there at 10:05am. Good tasting Western omelet. As I was paying, the workers told me about a carryout phone order they received from someone in Metamora, Illinois. The workers figured it out, due to the call-back phone number area code, and saved someone a long trip!

Back at Gateway Park, I settled next to an outlet at a bench under the porch of the office building for report writing. I was hearing train whistles as noon approached.

I rode my bike downtown to see about the train, and take some pictures. Metamora, Indiana is a small historic canal town, and the canal, with its aqueduct, has been preserved. I rode on their replica canal boat when I was here in 2015, but there's no boat here today. But trains are here! I passed the place where train ride tickets are sold, and decided I'd ride the 3:30pm run. I bicycled back to Gateway Park for more report writing until then.

There were just a few families in the passenger car I rode in, and we were spread out. This ride was heading west, and I was happy I'd get to see in daylight some of the bicycle trail I'd come into town on last night in the dark. The engine was at the rear of the train going west, so a watchman was on duty at the "front end" as we proceeded. The coach windows wouldn't stay up, so pictures I took were through the glass.

A little after 4:00pm, we were back in Metamora. I did some more touring of the town, including revisiting the grist mill. The tour guide there offered to take my picture, which was kind of her. They've updated their displays, but still mill corn and wheat, which is for sale.

At 5:00pm, I stopped at Canal Town Diner, where I was their last customer. The owner had one hot dog left, and I had that with a bowl of chili. It was fun talking with the owner as she worked. They're only open on weekends, and due to a special event yesterday, had been very busy. One last stop in town for a Black Cherry cone at Grannie's Cookie Jars, then back to the park to continue report writing. Sleeping by 10:50pm.

Jeff

Spent: $14.45 plus $5 (breakfast) + $5 (train ticket) + $5 plus $5 (supper) + $1 plus $1 (ice cream cone) + $10 (campsite) = $46.45.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0