Day 12 - ending at Franklin, OH - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2022

Day 12 - ending at Franklin, OH

Day 12 - Metamora, IN to Franklin, OH
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 5:50am. Today's goal was to make it to Econo Lodge in Franklin, Ohio. The start out of Metamora would be on the Whitewater Canal Trail, and the end on the Great Miami River Trail.

At 8:45am, I was back at Have-A-Bite for breakfast. The topic of conversation for the old men at the restaurant today was roadkill. One of the fellows there works for the township. The department kept getting calls from a woman who wasn't in their jurisdiction, but the supervisor said, "Oh, go ahead and take care of what she's complaining about so she quits calling." Well the guy shows up with his shovel and gets the dog off the road. The lady comes out and says, "I am so glad you finally came. We loved that dog!"

I stopped by the Country Mart for Power Ade and two Paydays on my way out of town. I was surprised to see they have a full bolts/nuts hardware selection in this gas station. Left there at 9:40am, headed for the trail, that more or less parallels US-52.

At the trailhead I met a day rider, who stopped for a conversation. He is a worker for the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway Association, if I have that right. He wanted to make sure I didn't need anything. I needed to pay for camping at Gateway Park, and he was able to receive my camping fee. Saved me from having to mail it to them when I returned home.

The railroad track and canal were on my left, and the Whitewater River to my right as I started out at 10:01am. At 11:00am, I was at the Yellowbank Trailhead. I went too far - to where the trail presently ends, so had to back-track a little.

At 11:19am, I was at US-52, ready to ride the few miles to Brookville. It was a little hilly, and I was happy to be past "Boundary Hill" and ready for a downhill. Of course, that wasn't to end of the hills. Noon arrived when I was at the bottom of one on Oxford Pike on the east side of Brookville. I took a break and recorded noon mileage: 11.1miles. Then I walked up what I considered a steep hill. The road was flatter for a while after that.

I passed through Whitcomb at 12:47pm, then made it to Ohio at 2:05pm. Just a township sign here to greet me. At 2:32pm, I was in Oxford, Ohio. There's a university here - Miami University. Band students were practicing in their sections on the lawns. 

I was on OH-73 east of town, then onto the country roads I'd routed. Passed through Darrtown at 3:42pm, and was in Seven Mile after riding a mile of grooved road. Traffic was always there, it seemed. A few roads had shoulders, others none. I got back on OH-73 for entry into Trenton. Vehicles were backed up as I approached town. A sidewalk showed up and I got on it. Another problem I had was that the road ahead was closed at a railroad crossing. 

Ahead was a restaurant I'd never heard of - Skyline Chili - so I stopped there for supper at 5:58 pm. I had their Coney Bowl chili, which is chili over three hot dogs. Very good. My waitress without asking brought me a to-go refill of the lemonade I was drinking, which was greatly appreciated. That went into my thermos.

I had 16 miles left to go, but first had to figure a way around the closed railroad tracks. It appears I chose the same route as everyone else in town, which brought us to a track intersection with two police cars and even more train company utility trucks. The best I can figure, the crossing gates lights weren't working correctly, so the police were there to make sure traffic stopped. It was a very long train. All the vehicles backed up caused problems for getting through after the train passed.

Finally, at 7:14pm, I was at the trailhead for the Great Miami River Trail, just east of Trenton. It was so nice to be away from the traffic, and it was a beautiful evening. Several miles to go, however, to get the Franklin. 

Left the trail in Franklin and arrived at the Econo Lodge at 9:06pm, after walking up a few hills on town. They have laundry machines here, so I used them while drinking a Dr Pepper. A shower next, then to bed at 1:04am.

Jeff

Spent: $12.54 plus $5 (breakfast) + $7.23 (PowerAde, PayDay) + $11.37 plus $5 (supper) + $69.53 plus $5 (motel room) + $3.50 (laundry) + $1 (Dr Pepper) = $120.17.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 462 miles (744 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Jeff LeeYou're in the region where "Cincinnati-Style Chili" rules, haha. People outside the area usually don't know what to make of it.

It's its own thing, for sure.

Skyline is probably the best known chain, followed by Gold Star, and then the smaller chains: Dixie Chili, Camp Washington Chili, etc.

Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltYou are close to Dayton. If you pass through on Creekside trail, you will be within a mile and a half of my house!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Timothy SwitzerTo Jeff LeeCincinnati-style chili ..... "secret ingredient" is cinnamon! Definitely a distinctive (and, an acquired, I think) taste. Not bad .... just not good! :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
Thanks for this information. I sure enjoyed my bowl, served with southern-style hospitably.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I was farther west at that point. Bike trails sure made it easy to get through Dayton.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
I liked the chili, especially with the hot dogs in it.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
The misspelling in my reply to you about Skyline Chili has been bothering me ever since my wife pointed it out. She told me to let it go, but I can't. I'm sure you figured out what I meant, but for the record, ". . . southern-style hospitality."
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago