trying to figure out what my 40-year-old journal means - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

trying to figure out what my 40-year-old journal means

It’s been forty years since I took this trip and, if you recall, the journal was written on small pieces of paper with cramped, tight lettering about 1-2 mm tall. It frequently includes items the meaning of which I now have absolutely no idea. Many of them are in quotes, and one that was written while at Darla’s proclaims:  squirrel gets “loose.” Why the quotes? What squirrel?  and “loose?” Did I encrypt it because we were tittering like children at a horny rodent but I couldn’t bring myself to actually write that? Or was it the double entendre we were making at the time and I wanted to remember my cleverness. 

Another one: “Tuesday Mornings” for Darla. Why the quotes? I do know that there’s such a thing as a Tuesday morning, so what makes this one fake? I reach into the farthest parts of my memory but it’s just not there. 

Another unusual item in the journal is the mention of a mysterious person named Lisa DeMent on more than once occasion. Apparently, we even went looking for her house but couldn’t find it. Lest you think I’m stalking this person whose name I don’t recall, the search would’ve been with Darla since I didn’t have a car. FYI, I’ve already googled her… nothing that fits.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0