my five days in denver, briefly - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

my five days in denver, briefly

The next morning Darla picked us up and took us to her family’s home in a Denver suburb where I rested and visited for the next five days. 

I'll be brief about my time there because although I had a great time, reading about it is pretty boring. 

Jerry and Scott went to the airport to fly home a couple of days after our arrival. I got a lot accomplished, most of which consisted of resting, but did some bike repair, maintenance, and preparations as well. When I went to the bike shop I watched and learned how to repack the bearings on my hubs so I can do it myself for next time. I also bought a spoke wrench, which would make it easier for me to true my wheels (and which I would use for another 40 years) instead of using the pair of pliers I had been using. Because I was taking one of those fancy new high-fidelity Walkman tape players, I made some music tapes to listen to in the evenings. My cheap tent had seen a couple of weeks of hard use with three grown men (well, grown-ish) packed inside it so I set it up and thoroughly scrubbed it with soap and water, and bought some better stakes from the Army Surplus store. I put new tires on my bike, and even waxed it after a good cleaning. We did some sightseeing as well, taking a tour of Marathon and Red Rocks. 

Heart 7 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0