Thursday, April 2 - Madrid to Navalcarnero: I finally get onto the bike - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 2, 2015

Thursday, April 2 - Madrid to Navalcarnero: I finally get onto the bike

I SEEM to be ready for my early starts already...8:09 am and ready to go.

It took quite some time to get out of Madrid. The gps was doing funny things and it was some km before it started to behave. The route was not particularly nice and there were some lengthy hills. That being said, the day was beautiful, there was only a slight breeze, and once I got out of the clutches of the suburbs, I was riding through rolling hills of farmland. I see, though, that there are miles and miles of new growth that has a drabness and sameness to it. Not like the old town centres of old.

By about the 45 km point I was pretty tired, so I finished my last mandarin and struggled to the town. After asking a few people for the directions I found this very nice hostal that I had booked yesterday.

Lunch was a ratione of potatoes and jamon topped with two fried eggs. With that and the tapas pre-lunch, there was no way I could finish it. I did enjoy a delicious glass of Fanta limon, though. Alas, with my cold there has been no oenology yet. Not a drop!

I just found out that the town has a Semana Santa procession, so I might just have to attend tonight, being the night before Good Friday, and all!

Yes, live from Plaza de Segovia, I was there to see the procession emerge from the cathedral. Smaller than yesterday, but no less moving to see that square packed with people who then followed the procession through the streets. This tourist included.

Hostal Cruz Verde €25

Loaded and ready to go and meandering the side streets to get to Puerta del Sol then head out of Madrid.
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
It took a while to get out of Madrid. I had to re-learn my GPS plus it was sending me where there did not seem to be a road. I finally figured it out then kept going. The only snow I saw over the whole trip was on these peaks in the very far distance.
- Between Madrid and Navalcarnero, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Note the jamon on the wall, a very common sight in restaurants in Spain. Of course, I had to have some for lunch.
- Navalcarnero, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Semana Santa processions
- Navalcarnero, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Semana Santa processions
- Navalcarnero, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 52 km (32 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0