Friday, April 3 - Navalcarnero to Torrijos: Entering Castilla-La Mancha on Santa viernes - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 3, 2015

Friday, April 3 - Navalcarnero to Torrijos: Entering Castilla-La Mancha on Santa viernes

ANOTHER early start again today. By 8:30 am I was outside figuring out where my gps was telling me to go. It is not that I did not know; rather, I wanted to make sure I followed the cycling-preferred route which the gps can do with one little setting. It is a great feature.

The Day 2 pain was definitely there. By biting the bullet and standing to stretch my legs regularly I was pretty good to the 50 km point. The final five were a struggle.

The cycling route brought me along roads that were so quiet I wondered if anyone lived here anymore. The countryside farms seem mostly deserted replaced by commercial-looking farming. Olives. Grapes.

The scenery was superb as the roads undulated and wound through the countryside. The route brought me through numerous little villages, one in which I stopped for strawberries, a mandarin that was sweeter than sugar, and a carton of orange juice. Energy for the road.

This hotel is on the far side of town and must be brand new. I am certainly not roughing it in this place. There is a nice-looking restaurant downstairs so at 1:30 I will sample some Castilian food.

Hotel Castilla €36

Beautiful winding roads with almost no traffic.
- near Toledo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally, the studying has begun. My first sip and it is a local wine that is Tempranillo grape based. Delicious. Along with my tapas and bocadillo de jamon de cebo... I was happy.
- Torrijos, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
These are the days I remember the most. Softly-lit mornings.
- Navalcarnero, Spain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even bridges are a thing of beauty in small villages.
- Near Navalcarnero, Spain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hotel Castilla
- Torrijos, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Everyone's fave snack.
- Torrijos, Spain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 107 km (66 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0