Saturday, April 4 - Torrijos to Navalmoral de la Mata: Catching up to myself - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 4, 2015

Saturday, April 4 - Torrijos to Navalmoral de la Mata: Catching up to myself

A COUPLE of things before I head out:

1. I am certainly behind where I have to be to be to reach Lisbon in time.

2. There is a lot of rain in the short term forecast. Lots. LOTS. Oh dear.

The view of another sunny Spanish morning. Snowless, too. This Hotel Castilla is on the edge of town in a semi-industrial area, but it is pretty in some spots around the hotel.
- Torrijos, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

So with the day I missed and wanting to make it to Lisbon on time for my flight, I hopped onto a train to Navalmoral. Before that I went to the local street market for mandarinitas and a pear that, like yesterday, were sweeter than sugar. After the tasty treat, I climbed on board the train and within an hour it whisked me at 154 km per hour to a point further along my route.

The balcony view from my room in Navalmoral de la Mata is beautiful. Up to the left and behind these buildings are the mountains to the south where I head tomorrow.
- Navalmoral de la Mata
Heart 0 Comment 0

My very pleasant hostess met me at the train station and had me follow the car a few blocks to this beautiful home perched on a hill. I was invited for lunch with the family which was tasty and the conversation was very pleasant. The hostess and her son both speak very good english.

After a nice paella lunch with a smidgen of Rioja wine, I am continuing with my journal on the front patio. What an incredible spot this family has.
- Navalmoral de la Mata, Spain
Heart 1 Comment 0

I spent the rest of the afternoon planning my route a few more days forward including a booking of a hotel in Elvas, Portugal. I was out on the patio surrounded by gardens, trees and the smell of spring.

The host and hostess invited me for a walk around town then for dinner... which is at 9 or 10 pm in Spain, of course. They were telling me that in the summer it can be above 40 C for stretches of time so dinner must be late, siestas are essential and even sleeping is tough as it can remain at 34 C all night. Not that I love our winters, but I sure could not handle that kind of heat.

AirBnB Pilar €50?

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 113 km (70 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0