Sunday, April 5 - Navalmoral de la Mata to Castanar de Ibor: I'm heading into the mountains! - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 5, 2015

Sunday, April 5 - Navalmoral de la Mata to Castanar de Ibor: I'm heading into the mountains!

THE beauty of the route increased in direct proportion to how difficult the cycling became. Yes, I was into the mountains today.

Once I got over a long 10% climb, the terrain totally changed to rolling hills of olive groves and really red earth. Lots of little shrubs were flowering so the air had a smell of spring to it.
- Extremadura autonomous community, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I started out this morning it was a bit cool, but sunny and clear so I could see the mountain peaks to the north. As I turned south, the terrain was not really beautiful. The terrain changed after I came to a monumentally long hard climb of 10%. I must admit that I walked a good bit, but once to the top, the scenery started to get breathtaking. Rolling hills of olive orchards. The road that snaked up, over and around various hills. The vistas were incredible. It is really starting to look arid and desert-like. All this in a span of 40 km.

There was that feeling today. That feeling of being out there cycling. The pride of a tough climb. Beauty in the surrounding vistas. And on downhills, leaning into the turns, gently flicking to the next gear without even looking down and the bike being the perfect machine, just does and keeps gliding through the mountains. Aahhhhhh!

I could hear cheery oom-pah style music as I arrived to town. When I came around the corner the band was playing, people were dancing and fireworks were being set off. The last fling of Semana Santa.
- Castañar de Ibor, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was getting tired, though, so it was nice to arrive to this village. As I did, I heard marching band festival music. Then I saw them playing, people dancing, and mobs of people following them as they paraded through the village. This is the final celebration of Semana Santa.

The hotel let me store my bike in their garage, then once settled I went down to their restaurant for typical local fare. Fried eggs, potatoes, chorizo and local red wine. Then the owner's son brought me samples of jamon, chichon, new cheese, and his own homemade sausage. It was excellent. I was stuffed.

The place was packed and very pleasant, apparently many home from elsewhere in Spain for Easter weekend. Suddenly, the place was empty... everyone went home to eat. I was still full and am still full now!

Rain is in the forecast tomorrow. The skies seems to concur. This is from my balcony.
- Castañar de Ibor, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hotel Las Mozas €28

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 153 km (95 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0