Home Again, Home Again, Jiggety-Jog.: What is it like to trade life on the road with life in a house? - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2015

Home Again, Home Again, Jiggety-Jog.: What is it like to trade life on the road with life in a house?

HERE we are on Earth Day and maybe I will share some of my musings about this bike trip.

Initially my friend Tom was supposed to come on this tour. Circumstances did not allow it, so it ended up being a solo trip. The first week or so was fine but a few days after that I felt a little too alone. Still fine, it would have been better to have been with someone else.

Our winter was horrendous. Thus, I should have done some stationary training. I was sooo out of shape that I initially had a difficult time even going 50 km in a day. Toward the end I was fine with 70 to 75 km and that is ideal. Stationary trainer or actual on-road training prior to the trip is important.

I love Europe. Plain and simple fact. Anywhere, everywhere I go, I am always more than happy to return. I must have been an ancient Roman or Greek in a former life! I will always go happily on a cycling adventure to anywhere in Europe.

Despite the burden of the fees associated with transporting a bicycle on planes, I love cycling with my favourite touring bike. My 1985 Raleigh Olympian. It just makes me happy to tour on it... and isn't that what it's all about? It makes me want to swing from the chandelier.

Arkel. Need I say more? I gush every time. The best touring bags as far as I am concerned. Several tours later and there is zero wear and tear. They cling to the rack. They function flawlessly. And they look so darned good!

Tour 2 with a cycling gps. The gadget combined with BikeRouteToaster gave me the info I needed to guide me every pedal of the way. The only thing I cannot seem to do is navigate to a European address. It works in Canada, but I use a work-around in Europe. (Update: With a little update to the gps this feature works flawlessly.)

If you noticed, I combined a non-cycling tour with my sister in 2001 with my 2003 cycling tour from Istanbul to Lisbon. The start of one trip with the end of another tour. Gathering loose ends? Re-living past days? Not sure. I am one who remembers and does not forget. Time after time. Like the Butterfly effect, things past ripple through our present and future. They just do. In sweet silent thought.

Now, wanting to let moss grow at least a tiny wee bit, it is still always a good time to ponder the next course of action. Where next? Where to tour next? What modifications or updates are required on the touring bike?

In other words, what is the next chapter in T50?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0