Monday, April 6 - Castanar de Ibor to Trujillo: Pizarro's home town - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2015

Monday, April 6 - Castanar de Ibor to Trujillo: Pizarro's home town

I HAVE to admit that I was nervous this morning. Distance, terrain and weather seemed stacked against me.

In planning the route, the gps was sending me off on some strange 120 km track. No thanks. I ended up breaking the route down into chunks, so that is how I wrapped my mind around it, too.

The ride out of town was a screaming descent past olive orchards, goat herds and tiny rivers. Of course, on a cycling tour, after a long descent comes...

A really tough climb. The climbing started. Up, up and more up. I was careful not to burn out too early on a long day.

Francisco Pizarro, conquistador of Peru, came from this village.
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch. Tuna, onions, olives, hard boiled eggs all on roasted pickled red peppers. That was the primero of the menu del dia. With included vino tinto, of course.
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Well kept but looking deserted today. Maybe the owners and staff take a holiday after Semana Santa. Sister and I stayed here in 2001 on our Spain trip.
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
This one is for Dr MA who loves Spanish and Moroccan citrus fruit. The lemons were too high otherwise I might have plucked one from a branch.
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Winding streets of the old town.
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plaza Mayor
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plaza Mayor
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
This place is so incredibly picturesque it is a shame it is not packed with tourists and their dollars. Plaza Mayor
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plaza Mayor
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hotel Blason €25

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 216 km (134 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0