Tuesday, April 7 - Trujillo to Torre de Santa Maria: Bulls, sheep and cattle amongst the trees - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 7, 2015

Tuesday, April 7 - Trujillo to Torre de Santa Maria: Bulls, sheep and cattle amongst the trees

SADLY, this town that I fell in love with fourteen years ago and sat in my past memories for so long. Then for a quick blip was anticipated and enjoyed for a few fleeting hours. Now fades back into the realm of memories. To ponder again.

Just out of town was this view that seemed nicely framed with the stone.
- Trujillo, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

I suppose because of yesterday's tough ride, I was still a bit sore when I got going. The day was beautiful, though. A few hills, but nothing too strenuous. The wind has picked up to about 20 km/h but was from the south, so not a concern. Yet.

As I approached a hill, I could see my newish hotel over on the right. A very early finish, it was only 10:30 am. Too early for the room to be ready so I just waited the 30 min or so. And now I have awesome views westward past Torre de Santa Maria and into the hills.

Next up: menu del dia somewhere nearby. Green beans in olive oil with garlic, onions and jamon, pork loin with potatoes, and a pinch of vino tinto. €9.50.

I took a wee stroll to the tiny village of Torre de Sta Maria. Being siesta time it was silent, but it was like walking through a museum town. Well worth the short walk to the village. I wonder, though, is it quiet because there are no more jobs nearby so everyone has to drive to a city, or worse, move and leave their place to crumble away.

Hotel Las Glorias €26

Today's ride: 33 km (20 miles)
Total: 249 km (155 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0