Wednesday, April 1 - Madrid, Spain Meander: Resting up for tomorrow's ride - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2015

Wednesday, April 1 - Madrid, Spain Meander: Resting up for tomorrow's ride

TIRED from yesterday and still battling a cold, I chose to stay in Madrid and play the tourist. Puerta del Sol. Gran Via. Plaza de Espana. Palacio Real. Plaza Mayor. Calle Atocha.

I see that a Semana Santa procession will be passing through Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor tonight starting at 20:15 so I believe I will go check out my first procession in fourteen years.

So, yes, if anyone is wondering... I am fine, though a bit sniffly. Only to get better each day now, I am certain.

Cervantes' statue overlooking Quixote and Sancho. Plaze de Espana, Madrid. Also home of the untasted olives growing on all of those olive trees... when in season.
- Madrid, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am so not used to seeing this at home. Over to the right were a number of police/military with machine guns in-hand. I think just security with so many people around plus the throngs that will be there tonight for the processions.
- Plaza Mayor, Madrid, Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

Instead of going to bed early like good little cyclist, I decided to see the Semana Santa procession. It is Semana Santa, after all. It is supposedly the best one in Madrid. Nuestro padre Jesus de la Salud (Los Gitanos) and saw it at Calle Paz which was recommended by the policeman I asked. Not a bad choice since the procession came up a rise so you could see them coming all the way. Then they turned the passo 90 degrees right in front of me at which point the crowd bursts into applause to acknowledge the difficult task. Both passos stopped in front of me, too, so when they get ready again, they kind of yelled out and all lifted at once. Again to a huge burst of applause from the throngs. Of course, at that point the road was little more than a car's width so they were right there in front of me.

These processions do not come across in words. When I first saw them in 2001, I was moved to tears. That moving. Tonight was no less moving and there were no fewer tears. It is Spain. It is evening. Warm out. Throngs of people who go from all out chatting, to complete silence, to full on loud applause. If you ever get the chance, go see one.

And here I was considering not going because I cycle tomorrow. Well worth the 90 minutes waiting then the 90 min as it passed along.

Wow.

Hostal Tijcal 2 - €33 lower since no booking site involved

A morning walk through nearby cafes.
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cervantes and friend at Plaza de Espana.
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just outside of the Palacio Real was this artist. I loved the colours and if you look closely you can see Don Quixote and the bullfighter.
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch was just down from the Plaza Mayor. (Permission granted for FB)
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
In a a market near the brewpub by Plaza Mayor.
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plaza Mayor
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Semana Santa processions
- Madrid, Espana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0