Day 75 Dillon MT to Jackson MT - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2023

Day 75 Dillon MT to Jackson MT

Today was a difficult day and I’m not sure why. I slept very well; I didn’t even wake up around three am to take my thyroid medicine. On top of  feeling sluggish, there was a head wind. I had to cross two passes and the wind was relentless. 

I think I found our crowing neighbor across the street from the campground.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillThe light is beautiful on this interesting scene.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

The farm and ranch land I passed before starting the first climb was peaceful. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

The climb was tedious. I didn’t feel connected. It was different and harder than any previous climbs. I think it was a mental thing. I need to allow myself a bad day. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

When I reached the pass, I was greeted with lupines and rocks with colorful lichen. 

My reward at Badger Pass
Heart 1 Comment 0

I hardly used my brakes on the downhill due to the headwind. I even pedaled. 

After about twelve miles or so the second climb started. 

I find these fences they have in Wy and MT interesting; do they build them this way because of the wind or snow?
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe try digging post holes in solid rock...
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ed SpeareThey do help keep the snow from drifting the roads.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Susan WelchProbably both!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

The second climb was more difficult due to the wind. My new mantra: “I’m not going to let this mountain beat me!”.  I was so relieved to reach the summit. I ate lunch then pedaled to an outlook and was surprised to find a sign for Big Hole Pass. You’d think they’d make it more obvious. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

The wind finally died down as I neared Jackson. I checked out the hotel in town. It’s more like a hostel with shared bath but the owner has done a great job  renovating the place. He had all sorts of interesting books, photographs, and paraphernalia. Beer,wine, and other drinks for sale on an honor system.  

Heart 2 Comment 0

They don’t take dogs so we were lucky to get an RV hookup across the street at the Jackson Hot Spring Lodge. Unfortunately the hot spring pool is only open Thursday through Sunday. Today is Tuesday. 

Before showering, I went to the Jackson Hat Shop and found some birthday gifts for my daughter’s partner. It’s a very interesting, eclectic store. After showering and doing hand laundry, we had a wonderful dinner from chef Peter. A good way to end a day. 

Heart 2 Comment 2
Susan WelchHooray Chef Peter! I bet he makes a good dinner companion too…
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Julie O’NeillWhere in the world does Peter get this marvelous food?! I am sure I don't have to say how lucky you are to have his support as your sag : )
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 2,754 miles (4,432 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Scott AndersonTwo passes, headwinds. A difficult day? Huh. That’s a poser, alright.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rich FrasierCongratulations on persevering! Some days are just like that.

On a side note, I want Peter to come live with us and cook for us. Is he available? :)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ed SpeareWhen are you getting to Missoula? My brother and his wife live there, but they are heading out tomorrow (Thursday) to meet up with us in Spokane. WA where we start our trip Sunday evening. Their daughter and husband live in Spokane so doing a mini reunion as we have not seen them for 5 years.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago