Day 5 Williamsport to Little Orleans - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2023

Day 5 Williamsport to Little Orleans

I left Williamsport around 10 am. Another sunny day, initially crisp but warming up to the upper 70’s. Peter chucked balls for Henry as I got my bike ready. 

Henry, still in the boot
Heart 1 Comment 0

Cycled out of Williamsport, over the Conococheague Aquaduct, and into the woods.  The trail continued much as yesterday but less rocks and mud.   

I saw these trees that looked like a pale version of our madrone trees on Lummi Island. Turns out they’re a type of plane tree. Not as majestic as the plane trees in France that I saw in the journal of the Grammies and the Andersons. 

Saw these unusual (to me) trees that looked like pale cousins of our madrone trees on Lummi Island. Turns out they’re from the plane family though not as majestic as the plane trees in France 

Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltSycamore tree closely related to plane trees.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Platanus_occidentalis
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleBill Shaneyfelt! I’ve always loved your posts on other’s journals. Thank you!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

I kept noticing these weird vines creating weird formations in the forest:

Riverbank vine
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltWild grape vine

https://habitat-talk.com/threads/wild-grape-vines.12056/
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

 After about 12 miles, I was directed on to the Western Maryland Rail Trail which was bliss to my tush. After the dog bite, I never got in my planned long in the saddle rides and I’m paying for it now. The pavement felt like velvet, except for occasional raised cracks which usually came in groupings. The trail runs for 28 miles to Little Orleans and would be my home for the day. 

Saw several of these structures on the trail. Does anyone know what they are?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Saw several of these structures on the trail today. Does anyone know what they are?

I never know what to do about these signs which were frequently posted:

Heart 2 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillThis photo and your comment made me laugh…
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

and then, about a hundred yards later, I saw this:

Ooh, that’s serious!
Heart 5 Comment 1
Julie O’Neilluntil I saw this!! Yikes!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Made it to Little Orleans. Peter picked me up and we went out to dinner. Overall a good day. No disasters!

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 137 miles (220 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Julie O’NeillYou are increasing your daily mileage at a significant rate!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleI think I’m recovered and slowly catching up on the training.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Scott AndersonYou live on Lummi Island! Lucky you. What a lovely place to call home.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleYes Scott. We are very fortunate. By the way, I really enjoyed your journal of your stay in Bellingham. I should’ve used your routes in training- maybe I would have avoided the dog bite. And we could commiserate about dog bites but at least I didn’t have to go to a wound clinic!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Sandy EarleWe’ll have to check in with you the next time we’re up that way. It would be great to have an excuse to see Lummi again.

Also, a CycleBlaze tip: if you ‘reply’ to someone’s comment rather than just add a new comment, they’ll received an email notification of it and are more apt to be aware of it.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan WelchThose last two photos are precious! The sign and then the rock…. Great sense of humor, Sandy - as always!!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Scott AndersonA late reply to your helpful comment- thanks for the tip! Still bumbling around the site. And yes, if you and Rachel are up our way, let me know!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rich FrasierType your comment here
Reply to this comment
10 months ago