Day 4 Brunswick Md to Williamsport Md - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2023

Day 4 Brunswick Md to Williamsport Md

Got a late start after tending to Henry’s toes and helping Peter pack up the trailer. I think a tent would be simpler.  The towpath continued with the beautiful new surface of yesterday.  I followed a young couple from the campground who were going to Williamsport but not taking the diversion to Antietam.  They took a break at the Harper’s Ferry footbridge so I continued on.  It was nice to ride with them and pretend I had a riding group. 

Poor photo of the steps to the foot bridge. Why can’t they construct some kind of platform to roll the bikes on? Glad we didn’t stay there last night although I would have liked to see the John Brown Fort.
Heart 0 Comment 0

About mile 15, I left the trail for the diversion to Antietam.  As I approached that big old hill on Harper’s Ferry Rd, I forgot to unclip from  my left pedal that I been meaning to loosen. Near the top of the hill I panicked and managed to extricate my foot and walked the last 20 or so feet. I’ve never met a hill I can’t walk.  There followed many rolling hills which I loved. I did have one near dog attack by a dog who could have been Frieda’s ( from the bike store in Virginia) older sister but with a big affection for cookies. I should’ve gotten a photo but I’m still a little nervous regarding charging canines after my recent painful dog interaction.

I decided not to visit the Antietam Visitor’s Center due to construction, time constraints, and military cemeteries have always made me sad, even as a small child. I ate my lunch on the steps of one of the monuments and reflected on how lucky I was that my Dad always came home from his tours of duty. 

Amazing how many lost their lives on these fields. Over 22,000 killed injured or missing. At least it wasn’t fought for nonexistent weapons of mass destruction.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Passed through the quaint little town of Sharpsburg, nearly got lost as street signs were not consistent but was saved by a postal delivery person who assured me I was on route.

Sharpsburg Md
Heart 5 Comment 0


On returning to the C&O, I found the trail had returned to its rocky dirt surface mixed with concrete, single track, and sometimes loose gravel. I encountered my first mud after 80 miles of this trip! I feel fortunate that I haven’t been rained on like the Chimahusky brothers before me. Every time I saw deep ruts in the mud, I wondered if it was from Ed or John. 

I wanted to continue to Fort Frederick State Park but Peter called me when I was in Williamsport. He confessed he had left the faucet on in the trailer while checking the hot water system, went to open the grey water into the sewer, got distracted, jumped in the truck with Henry to meet up with me and then got a call from the campground. The owner  told him they had turned off our water as water was flowing from the trailer. See, I told you a tent would be simpler. We rushed back and we were relieved to find the water was leaking from an overflow valve in the grey tank. Whew!  Major ADD senior moment but no disaster. 

Peter made me a delicious dinner and all was well. 

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 95 miles (153 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Julie O’NeillA lovely day.

Antietam is a very moving experience. So sad.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan WelchSandy!! I’m reading the posts so far all at once - WOW!! You’re DOING it! So inspiring and so wonderful to be able to follow you…. Big hug to Peter and Henry…
Reply to this comment
11 months ago