Day 6 Little Orleans to Cumberland Md - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2023

Day 6 Little Orleans to Cumberland Md

Another gorgeous day weatherwise. I feel so fortunate to have finished the C&O without any rain. I only had to deal with some of the residual mud and puddles. Starting out in Little Orleans, I turned right, onto the trail, assuming it  would join the canal trail. Shoulda done my homework or at least read the cues on Frank Moritz’s wonderful map. This what I found:

This is the end of the Western Maryland Trail- oops!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I only had to back track about a mile to find the C&O. About 15 miles later I came to the dreaded Paw Paw tunnel detour. Having looked at the website map of the detour but not the legend, I assumed the detour went to the right.  Nope. 

This is not the detour!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The detour is on the left but the detour sign is about 20 feet up the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

And no, the shuttle was not working even on a week day. After clambering partially up the steep, very rough and muddy trail, I ran in to Elaine from California. Check out her self-fashioned helmet accessory. I think she should sell her design to DaBrim!

Elaine from California
Heart 4 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice hand-made brim to her helmet. :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
A lot steeper than it appears in this photo and this was not the rough section
Heart 1 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillYou are becoming quite an experienced detour-er! That looks like a hike-a-bike section. 😉
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

The downhill was a lot easier as the “trail” was not so rugged.  At the bottom, I took the 1/2 mile diversion back to see the Paw Paw Tunnel.  It’s amazing- took over 12 years to complete and I forgot how many men died building it with pick, shovel and hand laid bricks. Only the upstream entrance is open at this time. It’s 3,118 feet long. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Paw Paw Tunnel
Heart 6 Comment 0


I stopped and had lunch on the porch of Lock house 68. I really liked the water lillies and wild iris. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Water Lillies
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wild irises
Heart 2 Comment 0

And yes they do do maintenance on the trail, although some sections make you wonder. This guy was trimming brush on the side of the trail. A little further down, the grass was 2-3 feet tall on both sides and in the middle. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

My phone was running out of juice so I don’t have many photos. I was thrilled to reach the end as my my backside was not adequately prepared for terrain of this trail!

The end of the C&O Trail and the beginning of the Greater Allegheny Passage Trail. Hallelujah! (That’s my butt talking)
Heart 3 Comment 0

Peter made dinner- the most delicious tuna salad sandwiches I’ve ever eaten, made with Lummi Island Wild tuna he brought from home!


Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 184 miles (296 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Julie O’NeillSo many adventures on your last day on the C&O! Great memories.
You seem to have the trail to yourself.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleThanks for your comment Julie! Very few cyclists going my direction. Over the whole C&O I only saw about six going west. Wish you were with me!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago