Day 33 Franklin MO to west of Blackburn MO - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

Day 33 Franklin MO to west of Blackburn MO

After a short jaunt on the trail, I crossed the Missouri River on old Highway 40 bridge which has a separated bike-pedestrian lane and a nice view of the old KATY rail bridge. 

This is currently being restored to become part of the KATY trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Boonesville Welcome Center contains a sweet little museum.
Heart 1 Comment 0

As soon as you leave the KATY, the hills start even before leaving town. The good thing is they sometimes block the headwind. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
I see a ton of no trespassing signs pin Missouri
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yep. No longer on the KATY trail
Heart 1 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillHa! Bet you miss the Katy now 😉
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
But I am on the Lewis and Clark trail as well as the Santa Fe trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice cows for Henry who loves (to bark at) cows
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAnd funny all the cows being lined up for your picture! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I is stopped in Arrow Rock, a town with many restored old buildings. I didn’t see the theatre but I found home baked cookies in the hand craft store. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
      

On my way out of town, I rode by the Bingham homestead. John Bingham was the uncle of George Caleb Bingham, a well known painter who was also involved in politics. He fought against Missouri becoming a slave state and supported the Union. There was a nice exhibit about him in the Boonesville museum.

Bingham farmstead
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

While snacking on the side of the rot, I not these poison hemlocks in a different stage of development and I thought they were more visually interesting. 

Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like poison hemlock. Bad actor! Very toxic if ingested and highly invasive as well. All over the place around Dayton.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
I also saw some alfalfa
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I came to Marshall, I encountered some grandiose brick houses which looked out of place down here, more like something you’d see on Lake Drive in Milwaukee. There were also many lovely wood sided houses. I wonder what businesses drove that kind of wealth.

Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice rounded porch at that house. :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
This is for Sebastian
Heart 0 Comment 0


I came to the downtown which was arranged in a square around a large building, probably a court house. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode by some huge factory or processing plant on my way out of town. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

And an interesting mural. 

It’s claimed that this dog had special gifts and could predict the sex of the unborn (before the use of ultrasound), winners of the Kentucky Derby and World Series as well as respond to commands in many different languages even though his owner only spoke English.
Heart 3 Comment 3
Charmaine RuppoltInteresting dog! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I slogged on down highway 20, a 2 lane highway with no shoulder and repetitive hills limiting sight and more traffic than I was comfortable with. I called Peter for a lift as I wasn’t planning on doing 70 miles today. The beauty of being sagged. 

We’re staying at a farm southwest of Higginsville that has partial hookups for the trailer. It’s very peaceful. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,262 miles (2,031 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0