Day 34 west of Blackburn MO to Higginville - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2023

Day 34 west of Blackburn MO to Higginville

Today was an intentionally short day of riding as I wanted to visit my grandmother’s grave in Laclede. Peter dropped me off on route 20 and after ab6 miles I was thrilled to turn on to quiet SR V that went through Corder.

Nice side flower garden in Corder
Heart 0 Comment 0
Remember these?
Heart 0 Comment 0

V turned onto AA which after a while became ROAD CLOSED. I keep hearing old Dr Borkowf in my head who when anything potentially catastrophic happened in the OR would calmly say “Oh let’s just see”. So I proceed and yes it’s a bridge reconstruction and no you can’t walk over it. There did appear to be a somewhat precarious path over mud and rock on one side. At this point the workers noticed me so I asked if I could go around and they said sure. They offered to get the younger guy to help me probably because I look older than their grandma but I said no, I don’t want to interrupt your work. And around I went without falling in the ditch. 

The nice thing about going through a Road Closed construction site is you don’t have to worry about sharing the road with vehicles for a while. Especially nice if there’s a big hill.
The road passed an old cemetery  with a lot of German names on the tombstones then basically took me into Higginsville.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I saw some great old houses on the east side. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltLove the blue house! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Peter picked me up at the end of the route and we drove to visit Granny in the Laclede cemetery. My Grandfather died when my Dad was six so we don’t have many family stories of him. 

I still miss her.
Heart 6 Comment 3
Julie O’NeillThis is a very touching photo, I am glad you got to stop to visit. I wonder if my grandson would make an effort like this to pay respects to me someday.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Susan WelchVery special, Sandy - ♥️
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltNice you got to know your grandma Ida. :) I had a friend named Ida when I was 7 years old. :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Today's ride: 12 miles (19 km)
Total: 1,274 miles (2,050 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0