Day 35 Higginsville MO to Lawson MO - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2023

Day 35 Higginsville MO to Lawson MO

Today’s route started from the east side of Higginsville and for the first couple of miles was downhill. Then the rollers started which were a fun way to wake up the legs. I stopped in Lexington to get some lemonade then added the ice to my water bottles. It was already getting hot out. 

OldVictorean house in Lexington
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltLovely Victorian house! :) Nicely preserved. :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Lexington Historical Museum
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don’t think it’s a library anymore
Heart 1 Comment 0

 After Lexington, I took SR 13 which is a 4 lane divided highway with a large but crappy shoulder. But it is flat. It crossed the Missouri River and I was glad to take the second exit for Henrietta. 

View of the surrounding farmland from the bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Henrietta I passed what looked like an old train depot but didn’t see any tracks. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

After leaving town I ran into 2 bike tourers doing the same route (TransAm Eastern Express) but west to east. They started mid May so they are flying! Unfortunately I forgot to get their names or ask if they have a journal or take a photo! 

The route returned to continuous rollers which persisted just about to the end. Passing through Camden, I could have been in eastern Kentucky with Confederate flags and very rundown housing situated between the railroad tracks and the road. No loose dogs though! Fleming is down the road but looks to be more economically viable. 

After Orrick there were several long hills before Wood Heights. I knew I didn’t like that name. Near the top of one of the long climbs, I got to watch this guy raking the newly cut hay into long rows. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then his buddy joined him. I was hoping to see a hay bale get spit out but I would’ve had to spend more time than I wanted. Did I mentioned that it was really hot?

Heart 0 Comment 0

I completely drank all my water bottles and was starting to feel drained. Peter called and said the road to the campground is closed as a bridge is out and it’s not possible to get through even on a bike. In addition, the detours are on gravel roads with lots of big trucks kicking up an incredible amount of dust. So Peter picked me up at the ice cream shop. We found some delicious peaches at a farmer’s stand on the way. Laundry is done and life is good. 


Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,334 miles (2,147 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy HornikYou are amazing Sandy! So enjoy reading your journey. Stay safe!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltNothing like ice cream and juicy peaches on a hot day! :) :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago