Day 36 Lawson MO to Basswood Inn and RV Resort - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2023

Day 36 Lawson MO to Basswood Inn and RV Resort

As soon as I left Lawson, the unrelenting hills startled again. In a way it makes the time pass faster except when the downhill doesn’t get you most of the way up the ensuing uphill and the grade kicks up significantly near the top. Many times today, I summited a hill, saw what was on the other side and said “oh my!” But then it would be completely doable. The worst is when you have a long, tough climb, no shoulder, and car(s) behind you. Today the drivers weren’t so bad but yesterday near Wood Heights there were several impatient drivers who made unwise decisions. There were a couple near misses with oncoming traffic approaching a crest of the hill. 

Heart 2 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillThose really are unrelenting rollers!!! You must be so strong at this point in the ride.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltLots of hills ahead of you there....
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Nice farmhouse photo for the day
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice yellow house. :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I noticed the corn is now about five feet tall, not quite as high as an elephant’s eye. And I saw a whole field of bachelor buttons, er… I mean chicory. 

Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLikely chicory but not enough detail in the photo to be sure.

http://www.missouriplants.com/Cichorium_intybus_page.html
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Susan WelchNot quite as high as an elephant’s eye!! Where’d that saying come from?😁
Reply to this comment
9 months ago


At one point I needed a pit stop and just then saw a Senior Center. They were really nice and told me to come back some day. 

I crested a hill and saw these horses which reminded me that it’s Irene’s birthday today. 

Happy Birthday Irene! I wish you were here to share the joy and the misery.
Heart 2 Comment 0

  I stopped in Paradise today. No forbidden apples but there was a cool convenience store at the gas station that had wooden floors and  you could order food and eat in a booth. Or you could sit outside on Adirondack chairs. 

Following Paradise and a short stint on a busy highway with no rideable shoulder ( a repeating theme in Missouri) the route went over two bridges on Smithville lake which is quite extensive.  There are lots of bike trails but none that could be used to get me where I need to go. 

View of one small section of Smithville Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped at a Clay County dog park and trailhead to use the restroom and was very impressed with this water fountain:

Serving adults, children and canines
Heart 3 Comment 0

After more and more hills, I arrived at the Basswood Resort which is right on the route. They have tent camping here but the access I see is by an uphill coarse gravel road. Not what you want to see after riding hills all day. 

Peter cooked a magnificent dinner. Henry’s happy. Life is good. 

Heart 2 Comment 2
Nancy HornikDinner looks amazing Peter! I would love a boel of that fruit salad. Sandy...those hills! I cant imagine cresting those hills with cars trying to pass. Again, beautiful pictures. Happy to hear all is well, that you always have a good welcoming by Henry!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltThe dinners that Peter cooked up were restaurant-worthy!! How nice of him! :) :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,374 miles (2,211 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0