Day 32 Tebbetts MO to Franklin MO - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2023

Day 32 Tebbetts MO to Franklin MO

This is my last full day on the KATY Trail. While it can become monotonous at times, especially when you’re riding alone, I try to appreciate it for what it is- a long trail without the worry of cars or nasty hills. I’m trying to live in the present as I know starting tomorrow I may have a radically different experience. It’s been kind of nice not having to worry about my blinky being charged. Also, it’s pretty difficult to get lost!

Peter dropped me off at the Tebbetts trail head and I immediately realized that I had left my helmet in the trailer. Peter went to retrieve it while I rode to the North Jefferson trailhead 12 miles away. Peter returned with the helmet but to the Jefferson spur a mile away. I just biked there, got the helmet, got Henry’s greeting (it doesn’t matter if you’ve been gone 5 minutes or 5 years), and returned to the trail, cranium now protected. 
I’m seeing a lot of Queen Anne’s Lace now and just noticed the red in the center. Supposedly this is because the Queen pricked her finger while making lace. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Wild petunia
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped for a snack on a bench facing the river and watched as a barge hauling a load of gravel got caught on something. It eventually got clear and docked next to this ? construction platform or barge. 

Oops. Not moving
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like problem solved
Heart 0 Comment 0

Lots of interesting things to look at today. 

Spiderwort. Different from what I saw earlier
Heart 1 Comment 0
Interesting tracks on the wood. Anyone know what it is?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillAsh Borer? They burrow like this under the bark...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltLooks like something or someone was trying to write something under the bark! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Poke weed. Looks like a house plant but toxic
Heart 0 Comment 0
This must be what made those crazy tread mark rumble strips yesterday
Heart 0 Comment 0
The corn is 4 feet high
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old church with nice details in Hartsburg
Heart 1 Comment 0

I kept straining my neck to find the pictographs on the bluffs before Rocheport but never saw any. I did see what I think was a storage place for explosives used in constructing the railroad. And I saw a few caves. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was hoping to visit the bike shop/cafe in Rocheport but it closed at 4:00. 5 minutes too late. I really liked the tunnel west of The town. The east entry is rock then the rest of it is cut stone on the bottom with brick above. 

Approaching
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rock entrance
Heart 3 Comment 0
Inside past the rock
Heart 3 Comment 0

As I approached the KATY Roundhouse campground on the trail in Franklin, Henry must’ve seen me and bounded out of the trailer howling his crazy greeting. 

Good day. Glad to get off the saddle. 

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,214 miles (1,954 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Nancy GrahamWell, good for you for finding the positives on what could be a boring trail ride. I have similar feelings about most trails I have ridden and am pleased you found some good stuff to see!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago