Day 25 Terre Haute IN to Casey IL - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2023

Day 25 Terre Haute IN to Casey IL

Today is another shortish day. It’s my birthday and I didn’t want to spend it cycling alone hours on end. I’d rather spend time with Peter and Henry. 
We packed up the trailer and drove back to Terre Haute. Peter dropped me off on the trail which jogged back and forth through town. At one point the trail was lined with different types of trees which had informational signs for each tree. 

A little hard to read due to bird poop
Heart 1 Comment 0

The route passed Indiana State University then joined a busy 4 lane divided highway with no shoulder. I passed a Turtle Crossing sign; it was not safe to stop for a photo and I think any turtle crossing this road would be pulverized.  After about 5 miles and crossing the Wabash River and West Terre Haute, it finally diverted onto Iliana drive and entered Illinois. Shortly after, I came upon a Road Closed sign but the workers let me pass through. Detours can be a big deal when you’re traveling by bicycle.   The road merged with US 40 which lacks a usable shoulder but luckily is not so busy due to the proximity of I70. 

US40
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m starting to see more bachelor buttons
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltChicory. Edible and nutritious.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chicory
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Bill ShaneyfeltIs this the chicory they used as a coffee substitute?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltYes. Roots... dried and roasted.

https://www.growforagecookferment.com/foraging-for-chicory/#:~:text=The%20young%20leaves%20of%20chicory,blooms%20between%20July%20and%20October.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Someone has impressive topiary skills
Heart 3 Comment 0

Marshall appeared to be a prosperous little town with nice older homes. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Interesting sign.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Marshall
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on US40, I came across another road closed but was not allowed to pass. Luckily, the construction boss told me about a dirt road/trail that was about 100 yards away, part rideable part hikeabike. I was fortunate not to have to take the six mile detour that the Chimahusky brothers had to follow. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
 
Not a bad mini detour
Heart 2 Comment 0

     For the past few days, the sky has had a greyish cast. If I were home in Washington state, I’d think it was a forest fire int Pacific Northwest. But here it must be particle pollution, maybe dust?

Heart 1 Comment 0

I passed a huge grain elevator and saw this truck dump it’s load. 

You can just barely see the truck behind that white rectangular building
Heart 1 Comment 0

I passed some more horses on my way to Casey. 

For Irene
Heart 0 Comment 0

Casey has giant, world’s largest everything- mail box, risking chair, wind chimes, to name a few. Sorry, no photos. On my way to the campground north of Casey I saw a house with an upside-down flag- the second I’ve seen on this trip. I wonder what is the story behind it. 

Heart 1 Comment 4
Mike AylingInternational distress signal, now used/abused by those who believe that the country is in distress!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Mike AylingThanks Mike! I sort of suspected that.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Di KegelesExactly what I was coming here to say! Those would probably NOT be the folks saying tRump lost……..
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Di KegelesI think you’re right now that I understand it.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

When I got to the campground, Peter had been busy preparing a birthday dinner. We had a delicious meal and a very pleasant evening. 

I was afraid we’d have to call the fire department after lighting all those candles.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Mike AylingNice cake.
Many happy returns!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Mike AylingThank you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltHow nice of your husband to get such a lovely cake for your birthday! :) Best way to celebrate a birthday is by BIKING!! :) :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 895 miles (1,440 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Elizabeth KilanowskiHappy Birthday!!!!!!
You are brave to bike on those 4 land roads!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Elizabeth KilanowskiSo far so good 🤞
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Susan WelchHappy way belated birthday Sandy!!! I got busy and stopped reading - and am catching up now. You are awesome!! Please give our best to Peter and Henry - we hope you had a lovely bday - and that the ride continues to go smoothly-
Best,
Susan
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Susan WelchThanks Susan. Can’t wait to catch up on your adventures when we get back!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago