Day 23 Franklin IN to Cloverdale IN. - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023

Day 23 Franklin IN to Cloverdale IN.

I set my alarm an hour earlier and managed to take off at 7:34- two hours earlier than usual. On my way out of Franklin, I get a call from Peter: “did you forget something?”  “Oh, like my pannier?“. Peter was there in a flash with my pannier and Henry howled when he saw me. 

The ride to Martinsville was exquisite biking! I saw lots of morning bikers on my route. I can see why this would be a popular route. Well treed, winding, rolling roads. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Those rocking chairs were really inviting
Heart 3 Comment 0
Interesting driveway lined with fruit? Trees
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nice old house
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice windows on the old house and the shingles too!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
More horses
Heart 2 Comment 0

The hills picked up on either side of Martinsville then turned to incessant rollers. I stopped in Martinsville for a cool smoothie but by the time I got to Lewisville I was parched and tired of drinking hot water. I spied an outdoor vending machine with sodas and Gatorade. The machine accepted credit cards but unfortunately had no cell connection. I only had one dollar bill. A woman across the street asked me if I needed change and gave me a dollar! I got my Gatorade and returned the 75 cents change to her. I’ll have to pay that 25 cents forward. Cold Gatorade never tasted so good!

Heart 4 Comment 0
Thank you Doris! (That’s her husband in the background, cleaning her Mom’s gutters)
Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltDoris was a lifesaver for you! It's awful when it's hot and you are thirsty -- all you can think of is something cold to drink!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
My favorite barn today
Heart 2 Comment 0

I ate lunch under this black walnut tree by a cemetery.
Heart 1 Comment 0
These grasses were growing around the base of the tree. I’ve never seen yellow flowers on grass!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltProbably smooth broome. The yellow is the pollen... If grass had actual flowers, the pollen would be on the anthers.

https://inaturalist.ca/observations/120242965
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting! I should have a magnifying glass!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

As I was approaching US 231, Peter called and said he was nearby on his way to the campground off route so he picked me up. I’m still adjusting to this hot weather. I think I’ll try to keep the days shorter until the weather cools a bit. 

I took a dip in the pool at the campground and am now cooled off and relaxed. In spite of the heat, it was a beautiful ride. 

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 818 miles (1,316 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Nancy HornikOnce again, beautiful pictures. So reassuring to hear good stories about kind people. I imagine that gatorade was delicious!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan WelchSandy - we’re LOVING your posts and photos!! So amazed by you! And your total miles for the day - 777 - what an auspicious number!! Love, Bruce and Susan
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Julie O’Neill777 MILES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 777 SMILES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
❤️
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy HornikSometimes it really hits the spot.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Susan WelchThanks for following! Wish you were here to ride with me!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’Neill😄
Reply to this comment
10 months ago